Kevin & Amanda’s Secret Ingredient Christmas Cookies

My vacation is about to begin!!! Today, I drove to my grandparents house so that we can leave bright and early tomorrow morning! This should be no problem for me because my body is not into the whole sleeping in thing…it’s embarrassing, but I’ve been up before 6 the past two mornings….it’s a problem!

What’s in my belly you ask?

Well I made some pretty intense snickerdoodle-like cookies for my grandpa’s birthday! Not the grandpa I’m going on vacation with, but the other one! My mom mentioned that he liked snickerdoodles, and then I remembered these wonderful cookies! They’re like snickerdoodles but some of the flour is replaced with ground pecans and oats!!! Which makes them so much better in my opinion!

Blog Pic #16

You can definitely taste the pecans! I love pecans, so I absolutely loved them!! They baked pretty thin however. The recipe doesn’t call for you to refrigerate the dough, but I did it anyway because the dough was so soft. I didn’t time it, but they were probably in the fridge for about 3 hours. I didn’t form the dough into mounds/balls before putting it in the fridge, but I think I will next time. Refrigerating the dough prevents it from spreading too much while baking, so the longer they are in the fridge, the less likely they are to spread. If they are preformed into mounds/balls before being placed in the fridge, they are even less likely to spread because the dough won’t be warmed as you form them into mounds/balls if that makes sense…!?

DSC00659

Everyone loved them! So this recipe is a definite keeper!! It comes from kevinandamanda.com!

http://www.kevinandamanda.com/recipes/dessert/kevin-amanda-secret-ingredient-christmas-cookies.html

Kevin & Amanda Secret Ingredient Christmas Cookies

Ingredients
1 cup (2 sticks) butter
1 cup whole pecans
1 cup quick one-minute oats
1½ cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
½ teaspoon salt
½ cup sugar
1 cup brown sugar, packed
2 eggs
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
For the Rolling Mixture:
¼ cup sugar
2 teaspoons cinnamon
Instructions
Melt butter in a heavy bottomed sauce pan over medium to medium-high heat. Once the butter has melted and begins to foam, start whisking constantly. Once the butter is brown and has a nutty fragrance, transfer to a large mixing bowl to cool.
Meanwhile, toast the pecans in a large skillet over medium heat. Cook, stirring frequently, for about 4-5 minutes until the pecans are dark brown and smell toasted. Immediately transfer to the bowl of a food processor. Add the oats and pulse until the oats and pecans are smooth and combined. Transfer the mixture to a mixing bowl and whisk in the flour, baking powder and salt until well combined.
Next add the sugar and brown sugar to the cooled brown butter and beat on medium to medium-high speed for 2-3 minutes. Add the eggs and vanilla and beat for another 2-3 minutes until well combined. Add the flour mixture and beat on low speed until just combined.
Use a medium (1.5 tbsp) cookie scoop to form dough into balls, then roll in cinnamon sugar mixture. Place on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. Bake at 350 for 10 minutes until edges just start to turn golden brown. Cool on a wire rack.

Leave a Reply

