Malted Milk and Whoppers Chocolate Chip Cookies

So we are about half way to Alabama!!! We spent last night at my cousins’ house in Illinois. It was so nice to see everyone again! I think the last time i saw them was back in February! My little cousin Leo brought me my favorite candy, York Mints!! We think alike because I brought him his favorite candy as well (peach rings!!). I haven’t eaten my York mints yet…

So, if it’s not York mints, what IS in Ellie’s belly?

Well even though its only 9 o’clock, I actually have a little bit of Whopper cookie in my belly!!! Somebody left half a cookie in the Tupperware, so this morning when I woke up I couldn’t resist!! I made them on Monday and they’re still extremely soft!

Blog Pic #14

A funny story about my cousin Leo’s first taste of the cookies! He was unaware that they were whopper cookies, and he thought they were my grandma’s cookies. So as he ate the cookie, he came across crispy bits of whoppers. Not knowing what they were, he asked his mom if he should tell grandma that her cookies had hunks of sugar in them that melted in your mouth! She of course told him not to, but he ended up telling me about the odd cookies. I told him that they were actually my cookies, and they had whoppers in them!!! He quickly assured me that they tasted a lot better now that he knew that the hunks of sugar were actually whoppers!!:)

The cookies didn’t have as many Whoppers as the recipe called for unfortunately:( My dad may have eaten some of the Whoppers without knowing that I still needed them. I think they would have been even better with more Whoppers,  but everyone really enjoyed the cookies from what I could tell. I’d consider them a success!! A recipe that I will make again…well maybe!! I have lots of cookie recipes I want to try…so we’ll see!!

Blog Pic #15

The recipe comes from averiecooks.com (told you I’ll be using a lot of her recipes!!)

http://www.averiecooks.com/2014/04/malted-milk-and-whoppers-chocolate-chip-cookies.html

Malted Milk and Whoppers Chocolate Chip Cookies

YIELD: 15 large cookies PREP TIME: 15 minutes COOK TIME: 11 minutes TOTAL TIME: 3+ hours, for dough chilling
INGREDIENTS:

3/4 cup unsalted butter, softened (1 1/2 sticks)
3/4 cup light brown sugar, packed
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup malted milk powder
1/2 cup instant vanilla pudding mix (not sugar-free and not ‘cook & serve’), OR use 2 teaspoons cornstarch in place of pudding mix
1 teaspoon baking soda
pinch salt, optional and to taste
1 1/4 cups Whoppers, halved or coarsely chopped
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

DIRECTIONS:

To the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment (or large mixing bowl and electric mixer) combine the butter, sugars, egg, vanilla, and beat on medium-high speed until creamed and well combined, about 4 minutes.
Stop, scrape down the sides of the bowl, and add the flour, malted milk powder, pudding mix, baking soda, optional salt, and beat on low speed until just combined, about 1 minute.
Stop, scrape down the sides of the bowl, and add the Whoppers, chocolate chips, and beat on low speed until just combined, about 30 seconds.
Using a large cookie scoop, 1/4-cup measure, or your hands, form 15 equal-sized mounds of dough, roll into balls, and flatten very slightly. Strategically place some of the Whoppers and chocolate chips toward the top of each dough mound for increased visual appeal. Check the undersides of each mound of dough and make sure there are no large Whoppers pieces that will bake directly on the baking sheet; reposition them or shield them with a bit of dough.
Place mounds on a large plate or tray, cover with plasticwrap, and refrigerate for at least 2 hours, up to 5 days. Do not bake with unchilled dough because cookies will bake thinner, flatter, and be more prone to spreading.
Preheat oven to 350F, line a baking sheet with a Silpat or spray with cooking spray. Place dough mounds on baking sheet, spaced at least 2 inches apart (I bake 8 cookies per sheet; these cookies are prone to spreading so don’t crowd) and bake for 11 minutes, or until edges have set and tops are just set, even if slightly undercooked, pale, and glossy in the center. Cookies firm up as they cool. Allow cookies to cool on baking sheet for about 10 minutes before serving. I let them cool on the baking sheet and don’t use a rack.
Cookies will keep airtight at room temperature for up to 1 week or in the freezer for up to 6 months. Alternatively, unbaked cookie dough can be stored in an airtight container in the refrigerator for up to 5 days, or in the freezer for up to 4 months, so consider baking only as many cookies as desired and save the remaining dough to be baked in the future when desired.

Leave a Reply

