Dark Chocolate Frozen Yogurt

So I recently realized that I don’t have a count on my recipes… so I’m going to start now!! This will be recipe 13 of 100!! (Counting that one really bad granola bar recipe). I am 15 days into summer, so it looks like I’m off to a good start!

What’s in Ellie’s belly today?

Today I’m sharing the recipe for some really rich dark chocolate frozen yogurt! I made it with my good friend Taylor. This summer we’re going to try to use my ice cream maker a lot because in summers past it’s only been used about once per summer:( We’re going to change that!!:) We’re going to try recipes and create some of our own!

Blog Pic #22This is frozen YOGURT!! This is NOT ICE CREAM! I love it, but you should know that it definitely tastes like yogurt! You should also be warned that it is extremely filling because it is made of greek yogurt. While you may be able to eat a cup of ice cream, you won’t be able to eat a cup of this frozen yogurt! It will FILL YOU UP!!

Blog Pic #23

I ate mine with just sprinkles, but my friend poured in lots and lots of peanut butter! Like I said, I like my ice cream to have some crunch, so sprinkles are all I need.

Blog Pic #21

The recipe is super simple! It’s a good base recipe to which you could add the toppings of your choice, but it is very rich, so it really doesn’t need anything! We made a couple changes to the recipe. We used non-fat greek yogurt. We added 2 T of sugar and 1/2 t vanilla extract. Also, we didn’t add dark chocolate chunks or peanut butter to our frozen yogurt.

The recipe is from chocolateandcarrots.com

http://chocolateandcarrots.com/2012/06/dark-chocolate-chunk-peanut-butter-frozen-yogurt

Dark Chocolate Chunk & Peanut Butter Frozen Yogurt

Ingredients

3 cups 2% Greek yogurt
1/2 cup sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup Hershey’s Special Dark cocoa powder
1 cup dark chocolate chunks
1/2 cup natural creamy peanut butter
How-To

In a bowl, combine the yogurt, sugar, vanilla, and cocoa powder.
Refrigerate for at least one hour.
Churn according to your ice cream maker’s instructions (I use the Kitchen-Aid attachment).
In the last few minutes of churning, add in the chocolate chunks.
Pour the frozen yogurt into a freezer safe container.
Drop the peanut butter on the frozen yogurt.
Carefully and barely mix in the peanut butter, so that there will be chunks.
Freeze until ready to serve.

 

Leave a Reply

