Orzo Salad with Chickpeas, Cucumbers, Lemon, Dill & Feta

Recipe 15!! I’m writing two posts today because I feel so far behind. I have 3 other recipes to be posted…and I’m making more recipes today, so I need to get on top of this!! When I started the blog, I thought I’d have the opposite problem… so this is weird! I figured I’d have too many days where I wouldn’t have anything to post! This might change though as I get deeper into the summer!

So what’s in my belly today?

Today I’m eating some of this delicious pasta salad! I’m trying not to make too many desserts this summer because I probably don’t need to have a constant supply of cookies…even though it is kind of nice sometimes! This summer I’m making more non-dessert food, and this is one of those recipes!

I love chick peas and feta cheese…like a lot, so I adore this salad! The dill gives it a nice refreshing taste, so it’s perfect for a hot summer day! Since yesterday was so hot, it was pretty incredible!

Blog Pic #25I will definitely be saving this recipe! My mom took it to work for lunch, and she enjoyed it too! It’s a very easy recipe, but I had to run to the store to get the fresh dill. Now I have lots of dill, so maybe I need to make some homemade pickles soon! Our garden will has cucumber plant growing, but it won’t have cucumbers for a while, so I shouldn’t rely on the garden for my pickles! I’m sure I’ll find some use for the dill. I always find a way to use up ingredients!

Blog Pic #24This recipe came from twopeasandtheirpod.com

http://www.twopeasandtheirpod.com/orzo-salad-with-chickpeas-cucumbers-lemon-dill-feta/

Orzo Salad with Chickpeas, Cucumbers, Lemon, Dill, & Feta

Yield: Serves 4

Prep Time: 5 minutes

Cook Time: 8 minutes

Total Time: 15 minutes

ingredients:

1 cup uncooked orzo (we use DeLallo Organic Whole Wheat Orzo)
1 (15-ounce) can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1 cup chopped cucumber
1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese
1/4 cup chopped fresh dill
1/4 cup diced red onion

For the Dressing:

3 tablespoons olive oil
3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
1 clove garlic, minced
1 tablespoon finely chopped fresh dill
Salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste

directions:

1. Cook orzo pasta according to package directions. Drain the orzo and rinse with cold water to stop the cooking and to wash away some of the starches. Allow the pasta to cool.

2. In a large bowl, combine orzo, chickpeas, cucumbers, feta, dill, and red onion.

3. In a small bowl, whisk together olive oil, lemon juice, garlic, dill, salt, and pepper. Drizzle over salad and stir until ingredients are well coated. Serve immediately or chilled.

Leave a Reply

