Strawberry-Kiwi Lemonade

It has been unbelievably gorgeous outside the past couple of days! Sunny and 80! I’m actually not sure of the temperature, but it definitely felt like 80. I’ve been trying to do lots of stuff outdoors! I have gone for a run, walked my dog, biked all over, and jumped on the trampoline. All of this running around has made me exhausted! I’ve been going to bed fairly early, and my feet and legs ache! I need to get better about stretching after I exercise. You know what else would be perfect after exercising in the hot sun?? This Strawberry-Kiwi Lemonade!!

And that is what’s in my belly today!

I made this recipe in Alabama with my cousin Michael. We had lots of lemons leftover after making those Lemon Creme Crumb Bars, so we decided to make some fresh lemonade. We started searching through pinterest and came across this recipe! It was perfect because we had a couple strawberries leftover from dinner the night before (Its a good thing they didn’t put them out with dinner because Michael and I would have gobbled them up! I’m pretty sure we ate half of the giant bowl of cantaloupe, strawberries and grapes !!). We also had some kiwis to use up! It was too perfect, so we couldn’t resist!!

Blog Pic #19

We squeezed the lemons by hand and everything else just went in the blender! Pretty simple!! To drink, all you had to do was add some water to because it was in concentrate form! It was very refreshing and pretty to look at! Michael and I had lots of fun setting up the pictures because the fruit was so bright and beautiful!!

Blog Pic #20The recipe comes from thestayathomechef.com

http://www.thestayathomechef.com/2013/05/strawberry-kiwi-lemonade.html

Strawberry-Kiwi Lemonade
Ingredients
1 1/2 cups water
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 1/2 cups lemon juice (6 large lemons for me)
1 lb strawberries, hulled and halved
4 kiwis, peeled and halved
Water and Ice
Instructions
1. In a small saucepan, create a simple syrup by combining the sugar and water over medium-high heat. Stir until the mixture goes clear (it should only take a few minutes).
2. Toss your fruit (strawberries and kiwis in this case) into the blender. Add in the lemon juice and simple syrup. Blend until smooth. At this point you have lemonade concentrate like you’d buy frozen in a store. You can freeze yours for later use.
3. When you want to serve it, combine the concentrate with ice water to taste. I prefer my lemonade on the strong side.

– See more at: http://www.thestayathomechef.com/2013/05/strawberry-kiwi-lemonade.html#sthash.jmn3QtGH.dpuf

One thought on “Strawberry-Kiwi Lemonade

Leave a Reply

