Peanut Butter & Jelly Granola

So before I get to the wonderful granola recipe, I should share the disaster that occurred yesterday! My friend Taylor came over to hang out. Our original plan was to make ice cream, but it was only about 60 degrees and it was rainy:( We’re not very good at choosing days to hang out…last time we hung out it was like 50 degrees and I had to dig into my winter stuff for a pair of gloves…that was in may! Despite the lack of good ice cream weather, we still wanted to do some baking! We drove to the grocery store for some inspiration. We didn’t buy anything, but we decided on Zucchini Carrot Bread!

We arrived home, and we got right to work. We ran into a problem right away! No eggs:( To substitute, we used 1/3 cup applesauce. So now we had all the ingredients. We followed the instructions, but TAYLOR decided to add lots more zucchini and carrots to the recipe! I was a bit hesitant, but he assured me that his family always add way more than recipes called for. So we mixed it all up, preheated the oven, and stuck it in! After wheat I thought was enough time, we tested the bread. There was no batter on the tooth pick, so we decided to flip it out of the pan…BIG MISTAKE!! That mistake was on me:( The pan immediately deflated onto the cooling rack….We decided our best option was to flip the bread back into the pan and put it back in the oven. We baked it for another 20 min, tested it, and flipped it out of the pan again. This time we tried cutting into the bread…it jiggled…clearly it still wasn’t done. Glancing at the oven, I remembered that I had turned it off after taking the bread out the first time…mistake #2 for me:( Getting slightly annoyed, we placed the deflated, dense bread back into the pan for a final baking. With the oven actually on, we baked the bread for another 30 minutes. After that we were DONE!!! No more! We decided to keep it in the pan this time so it would cook a little more. We both tried the bread. It tasted delicious, but it did not have the right texture for sweet bread at all…we decided it had more the texture of cheesecake or something!! Haha! That bread made for quite the adventure!

I didn’t take any picture for obvious reasons and I’m not sharing the recipe! I just needed to share it because I am counting it in my recipe count for the summer!

Now for the good stuff!!

What’s in Ellie’s belly today?!

Today I ate some unbelievably yummy granola! It’s huge clumps of rich peanut butter coated oats with raisins and craisins and peanuts all mixed in. I love peanut butter and jelly!! When I was younger I was definitely a jelly person!! I preferred when my sandwiches oozed with jelly, when I could lick up the jelly quickly as it began to fall out of my sandwich!! I still love my jelly, but my love of peanut butter has grown exponentially!! I can eat it by the spoonful!! Especially homemade peanut butter. I have some sweet honey roasted peanut butter in my fridge right now as a matter of fact!!

Blog Pic #27

This recipe was so easy! We had all of the ingredients right at home. I love how big the granola clusters are. I’ve just been eating it plain, but I’m sure it would be delicious on some vanilla yogurt! As always with granola recipes (at least for me) the baking time was WAY off! If I go based on the recipes, I would burn my granola every time! I did about 10 minutes, flipped the granola, then put it in for another 10 minutes! Watch the granola carefully!

Blog Pic #26The recipe comes from averiecooks.com

http://www.averiecooks.com/2015/02/peanut-butter-jelly-granola-whole-foods-copycat.html

Peanut Butter and Jelly Granola (Whole Foods Copycat)

YIELD: about 5 to 6 cups

PREP TIME: 5 minutes

COOK TIME: about 25 minutes, divided

TOTAL TIME: 90+ minutes, for cooling

INGREDIENTS:

heaping 3/4 cup creamy peanut butter (I used conventional honey-roasted peanut butter)
3/4 cup honey
2 cups old-fashioned whole-rolled oats (not quick-cook or instant because they behave like flour and will make mixture too dry)
1 cup finely chopped lightly salted or salted peanuts
3/4 cup raisins
3/4 cup dried cranberries
1/2 cup oat bran (often found in bulk bins or substitute with 1/2 cup oat flour by grinding 1/2 cup whole-rolled oats in food processor or blender for 30 seconds)
1/2 teaspoon salt, or to taste (the saltiness level in peanut butter and peanuts varies greatly)

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F, line a baking sheet with parchment paper, or spray with cooking spray; set aside.
  2. To a large microwave-safe bowl, add the peanut butter (haven’t tried using natural or homemade peanut butter or other nut butter such as almond butter; they tend to be runnier, thinner, and adjustments to the dry ingredients will likely need to be made), honey (haven’t tried with agave or maple syrup), heat on high power for 30 seconds to soften, and stir to combine.
  3. Add all remaining ingredients and stir to combine. If you don’t like raisins or dried cranberries, substitute with an alternate dried fruit or you may possibly be able to omit dried fruit entirely if you add more dry ingredients, although I haven’t tried so cannot comment on exact measurements.
  4. Turn mixture out on prepared baking sheet. It’ll take up the entire baking sheet and while you don’t want to hard-pack it, make sure it’s a fairly flat layer and all pieces are of uniform height because higher pieces will have a tendency to burn. Bake for about 13 to 15 minutes.
  5. Remove tray from oven and using a spatula (like you’d use to flip eggs or burgers), flip sections of the granola over until it’s all been flipped. I prefer flipping to stirring because I think it cooks more evenly.
  6. Return tray to oven and bake for about 10 to 12 minutes, or until granola is lightly browned, keeping in mind that granola will cook a slight bit more as it rests and cools on baking tray. Keep a watchful eye on it after you’ve flipped it because it can be prone to burning. Granola firms up as it cools. Allow granola to cool for at least 1 hour on baking tray (or overnight and exposed to air if you prefer it to be drier) before serving. Granola will keep airtight for 3 to 4 weeks.
One thought on “Peanut Butter & Jelly Granola

Leave a Reply

