Chicken Gyros

So this weather…what the heck? 50s at the end of May is not okay!! I want 90s like when I was in Alabama, but I guess I can settle for 70s! My sister Erin and I went for a bike ride yesterday. We biked 13 miles and walked 3! I was pretty impressed with us, but we were ready to collapse when we got home! I’m not quite as sore as I thought I’d be today, which is great. I’m actually planning on biking to work on Tuesday!! I’ve got to stay in shape because I plan on biking to Nelson’s Ice Cream again this year! I’m hoping if I get used to biking long distances before hand, it will be easier. After a long 3 hours biking and walking, my sister and I had worked up an appetite. Luckily, we had a grad party to attend with lots of yummy food!! I attacked their fruit bowl! Speaking of grad parties, I had my first gyro at a grad party last year…

And a gyro is  in my belly today!!

I made chicken gyros for dinner the other night, and I really enjoyed them!! A large part of that may have been my love of pita bread! It’s so doughy and delicious! I especially loved to dip it in the yogurt sauce. I tend to pick apart my food when I eat it. For example, I load my subway sandwiches (or any sandwich) with tons of veggies, but I always eat the veggies off and then eat just the meat and bread. With these gyros I ate the meat and veggies first…then I ate dipped the pita in the extra yogurt sauce.

Blog Pic #29I marinated the chicken for about 8 hours, and then I fried it in a pan on the stove. It was really juicy and had a lot of taste. I was our of oregano, so I had to use ground oregano. I just guessed on how much to use, so it might have been more or less than the recipe called for. We also added some cucumbers to ours because why not?!

Blog Pic #28

Everyone really enjoyed the recipe, and it was really easy so I think I will save it for future use!!

The recipe comes from the-girl-who-ate-everything.com

http://www.the-girl-who-ate-everything.com/2010/01/chicken-gyros-opa.html

Chicken Gyros – Opa!
Ingredients
Tzatziki sauce:
1 cup plain Greek yogurt
1 regular cucumber, peeled and seeded
1 teaspoon minced garlic
1 teaspoon white wine vinegar
Salt and pepper
Squeeze of fresh lemon juice
Extra virgin olive oil
For the chicken:
2 teaspoons minced garlic
Juice of 1 lemon (2-3 Tablespoons)
2 teaspoons red wine vinegar
2 Tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
2 heaping Tablespoons plain Greek yogurt
1 Tablespoon dried oregano
Salt and pepper
1 1/4 lbs. boneless, skinless chicken breasts
To assemble: Pita bread
Fresh tomatoes, seeded and diced
Red onion, sliced thin

Instructions
Shred the cucumber or chop in food processor. Wrap in a towel a squeeze to remove as much water as possible. Mix together the yogurt, shredded cucumber, garlic, white wine vinegar, salt and pepper to taste, and lemon juice. Drizzle lightly with olive oil.
Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes before serving to allow the flavors to meld.
To prepare the chicken, combine the garlic, lemon juice, red wine vinegar, olive oil, yogurt, oregano, and salt and pepper to taste in a medium bowl. Whisk together until mixed well. Add the chicken pieces to the bowl and mix well to coat. Cover and refrigerate for about 1 hour.
Cook the chicken as desired, either in the skillet or with the broiler. Once the chicken is completely cooked through, transfer to a plate and let rest for 5 minutes.

Leave a Reply

