Bistro Grilled Chicken Pizza

So I figured out I’m not very good at taking pictures of my recipes:( I keep forgetting and then discovering that it’s all gone and I have nothing to take a picture of. So a couple of my upcoming recipes won’t have pictures with them! I’m also not very impressed with my picture taking skills. I definitely have a lot of work to do. The blogs I follow have gorgeous pictures that make me want to eat right off of my computer screen!! Mine on the other hand look unappetizing. Granted, they have fancy equipment and I’m using my little digital camera. I still hope to one day take pictures like them. Today’s pictures do not do this pizza justice. The picture just doesn’t capture the deliciousness! I’ll work on it…but in the meantime…

Let’s find out what’s in my belly!

Well lets start with a recipe I made about a week ago! I don;t have any pictures for this recipe, but it was a Greek Yogurt Tuna Salad. I had been craving tuna salad all year at college, and I finally got around to making some. I’ve never been a huge fan of tuna salad, so I don’t know where that craving came from…?? But regardless, I had been waiting and waiting to try this recipe!! When I finally did I was greatly disappointed:( The recipe only called for a quarter cup of yogurt…and that was not even close to enough!! It was really dry and we ended up adding some mayo to it. The recipe also had some apples in it, and since I love apples I thought I would love it, but the apples didn’t really add anything special to the tuna salad. It was overall a sad experience! For this reason, I’m not sharing the recipe.

I am however sharing this pizza recipe because this recipe was not even close to being a disappointment. In fact, it exceeded my expectations!!!:) The recipe came from the pizza cookbook we gave my dad for Christmas! Along with the cookbook we gave him an extremely large skillet to make the pizzas in! Here’s the cookbook!

Blog Pic #32

The pizza went well beyond what I was expecting. The feta cheese was unbelievably delicious!! It got all melty and creamy. It had so much flavor!! I will definitely be adding more next time I make it! (It called for 4oz and I only put on about 2oz for whatever reason) All the flavors tasted so well together. I cut the chicken pieces a little too big, so next time I’ll cut them nice and small. I found myself trying to take a bite and taking off an entire piece of chicken:( Leaving the remaining pizza toppingless!

Blog Pic #31

As always, I made a lot of changes to the recipe. The recipe called for the pizza to be grilled, but I made it in the skillet. I didn’t write down exactly how this changed the recipe. I know for sure that I preheated my skillet, cooked the dough for about 5/10ish minutes before putting the topping on and the baked the pizza at 425 degrees F. I also made my own dough rather than using refrigerated dough!! I also didn’t use as much sauce as them, I added a little more cheese (2 cups total), I pan fried some chicken instead, and didn’t use as much feta cheese (but I think I’ll change that next time!!)

So here’s the recipe! (exactly from the book, not with my variations)

1 (13.8oz can) refrigerated pizza crust dough

1 tsp olive oil

3/4 cup pizza sauce

4 plum tomatoes, sliced

2 cups chopped rotisserie chicken

1 (4oz) package tomato-and-basil feta cheese

1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

2 Tbsp small fresh basil leaves

1. Preheat grill to 300-350 degrees (medium) heat. Unroll dough, and place on a lightly greased 18 by 12 inch sheet of heavy duty aluminum foil. Starting at center, press out dough with hands to form a 13 by 9 inch rectangle. Brush dough evenly with olive oil.

2. Invert dough onto cooking grate, peel off foil. Grill covered with grill lid, 2-3 minutes or until bottom of dough is golden brown. Turn dough over and grill, covered with grill lid, 1-2 minutes or until bottom is set. Carefully remove crust from grill to an aluminum foil, lined baking sheet.

3. Spread sauce evenly over crust; top with tomato slices and chicken. Sprinkle evenly with cheeses. Return pizza to cooking grate (pizza should slide easily). Grill, covered with grill lid, 3-5 more minutes or until crust is done and cheese is melted. Sprinkle with basil leaves.

Leave a Reply

