Trail Mix Energy Bites

So it has come to an end:( Work is beginning! Today I work from 9 to 5! That is a full day! I’m ready for it though.Sitting at home all day can get kind of boring, so I’m ready to “work”. I don’t know if you can really call it that because all I do is hang out with kids and make sure they don’t get into any trouble. With long days of work comes the need to eat food that will keep me full and satisfied!

So let’s see what’s in my belly today that will keep me going strong all day!

Today there’s Trail Mix Energy Bites!! My family makes these peanut butter protein bites a lot, but I wanted to switch it up a little bit! These however were not as popular as the peanut butter ones. I really liked them, but I also really like the taste of honey. They have a very strong honey taste, and because my sister isn’t a huge fan of honey, she didn’t love them. So I’ve been eating these by myself:( Even though they are not super popular in my house, I’m still going to share the recipe.

Blog Pic #33

We had all the ingredients right in the house which was awesome!! We always have a good supply of cornflakes in the house because my dad loves to make his famous Special K Bars. I had a bunch of mini chocolate chips left over from another recipe and we had a tiny bag of pretzels in the closet!! It was absolutely perfect! YOu just mix everything together in a bowl. You let it sit in the fridge for a while so it is not quite so sticky, and then you form them into little balls. They are so easy to just grab and go!

Blog Pic #34The recipe comes from chef-in-training.com. The only thing I changes was that I melted the peanut butter and honey together in the microwave to make it easier to spread over the dry ingredients.

http://www.chef-in-training.com/2015/05/trail-mix-energy-bites/

TRAIL MIX ENERGY BITES
Serves: 12-14
INGREDIENTS
  • ½ cup old fashioned oats
  • ¼ cup corn flakes
  • ½ cup crispy rice cereal
  • ¼ cup dried blueberries
  • ¼ cup almonds
  • ¼ cup hazelnuts
  • ¼ cup broken pretzels
  • ¼ cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • ¼ cup creamy peanut butter (or any other nut butter)
  • ½ cup honey
INSTRUCTIONS
  1. Combine all the dry ingredients in a medium bowl and give it a good stir.
  2. Add peanut butter and honey and gently stir until fully incorporated. Place bowl into the fridge for 1 hour before forming into bites (this step helps to make the forming and shaping process of the balls much easier).
  3. Remove bowl from the fridge and shape mixture into balls (about 1 – 1½ tablespoons of mixture per ball). Return bites to the fridge until ready to serve.
Leave a Reply

