Veggie Loaded 7-Layer Dip

Graduation Parties!! I went to a whole TWO yesterday! Not quite as crazy as the 10 that some people did, but it was plenty!! The two parties were for people that I met on my mission trips, As I’ve said before, I love those people and don’t know where I would be without them! With graduation parties comes lots and lots of food!! Especially desserts, but I must confess my absolute favorite foods at graduation parties are fruits and veggies!! I love when they have giant bowls of mixed fruit and huge platters of veggies. I could eat those all day long! Despite my love of veggies and fruit, I also can’t resist cake. We never have cake at my house because were just not cake people for the most part, but graduation parties allow me to get my cake fix!! I love cake some much, but I’m quite picky! I really hate when they put a fruit filling on the inside. I also do not like whipped frosting! I want the rich and thick kind:) As long as the frosting is good and it’s lacking a filling, I’ll eat it!! But my absolute favorite is when the cake is layered!! with frosting in between the layers! There is nothing better than forking into those beautiful layers. Speaking of layers..

Let’s talk about the layers of goodness in my belly today!!

As I said, I LOVE LOVE LOVE vegetables!! This dip has some of my favorites, cucumbers and tomatoes! This dip is kind of like the layered taco dip that people always bring to parties. This one is probably a bit healthier though because its loaded with healthy ingredients! Black beans, avocados, lettuce, tomatoes, cucumbers, and onion! It’s so colorful and pretty. I tried to get a good picture of all the layers, but this is the best I could do.

Blog Pic #36

This dip was made for my dad’s party with old college friends, so I didn’t get to taste it the first day:( I figured it would be a little weird for them to bring this dip if it had a bite already taken out of it, so I refrained! I was able to taste it the next day though, and it was super yummy! Not quite so pretty, but still delicious. The juices from the cucumbers and tomatoes accumulated in the bottom of the pan, but all the flavors had been mixed really well from sitting together for so long!

Blog Pic #38

I loved taking pictures of this dip because it was so pretty and full of bright colors! Lately, I feel like my picture taking skills have gone down hill, so I need to start working harder!! Here’s so more pictures just because!

Blog Pic #37

Blog Pic #35

I added a little more sour cream than the recipe called for (around 3/4 cup) and I did not add the dried chipotle pepper, bit other than that I followed the recipe!

http://www.littlebroken.com/2015/04/14/veggie-loaded-7-layer-dip/

VEGGIE LOADED 7-LAYER DIP
INGREDIENTS
Bean Layer
  • 1 can (15 oz.) black beans, drained + rinsed
  • 1 (dry) chipotle pepper (found in produce section next to peppers)
  • 2 Tbsp. fresh lime juice
  • 2 Tbsp. water
  • ½ cup roughly chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 tsp. cumin
Avocado Layer
  • 3 avocados, pitted + mashed with fork
  • ⅓ cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 2 Tbsp. fresh lime juice
Everything Else
  • ½ cup sour cream (I used full fat)
  • 2 cups chopped iceberg lettuce
  • 3 romana tomatoes, seeded and chopped (about 1½ cups)
  • 1 cup chopped hothouse cucumber
  • ¼ cup chopped red onion
  • salt and pepper
  • chopped fresh cilantro, to garnish (optional)
  • tortilla chips, to serve
INSTRUCTIONS
Bean Layer
  1. In a bowl of a food processor, combine all the ingredients and pulse until well blended and smooth. Season with salt and pepper to taste.
Avocado Layer
  1. Mix all ingredients in a small bowl. Season with salt and pepper to taste.
To Assemble
  1. Spread the beans in an even layer on the bottom of a 8X11 (or similar) casserole dish. Spread the avocado in an even layer on top of the beans, followed by a layer of sour cream, then the lettuce, tomatoes, cucumber, and red onion.
  2. Season the top lightly with salt and pepper to taste. Garnish with fresh chopped cilantro.
  3. Serve immediately with tortilla chips.
NOTES
I would recommend preparing the dip the day of serving as there will be some juice accumulation from the veggies if the dip sits for too long. If you want the dip extra chilled, prepare+chop all the layers and chill individually before layering and serving.
Leave a Reply

