Rhubarb Crunch

Holy Cow!! It’s supposed to be 90 today!! I get off of work at 1, but none of my friends get off that early, so I don’t have anyone to enjoy the wonderful day with. Maybe I’ll be super lame and put the sprinkler underneath the trampoline and jump…all alone:( I don’t know yet, but I’ll think of something fun to do! Maybe I’ll do some non-heat involved baking!! Or maybe I’ll just eat some already made dessert!

speaking of dessert, let’s talk about this dessert! While it’s not, nor has it ever been, in my belly, it has been in my family’s.

I’m not a rhubarb person, but my mom had a bunch of fresh rhubarb from a friend at work. She wanted me to use it in my baking, so I went through some old cookbooks and found an easy recipe to make. We actually had all the ingredients on hand! It has cherry pie filling in it, and we wouldn’t normally have that, but we’ve had a can sitting in our closet for a long long time!!

Blog Pic #39

My older sister loves it and has been eating it almost every day!! She says you can eat it both warm or cold, but she prefers cold because the crust stays better…not sure exactly what that means!

When I initially decided on the recipe, I thought it was more of a bar that could be easily cut. As it turns out, it’s much more of a rhubarb crisp. It sloppy and gooey, but everyone who tried it loved it!

Blog Pic #40

I got the recipe from an old church cookbook from St. Mary’s in Sleepy Eye.

Rhubarb Crunch

Crust Ingredients

1 cup quick oatmeal

1 cup brown sugar

1 cup flour

1/4 tsp. salt

1/2 cup butter

*Mix oatmeal, brown sugar, salt, flour, and butter. Press half in the bottom of a 9 by 13 pan.

Filling Ingredients

4 cups diced rhubarb

1 cup sugar

1 cup water

2 tsp. cornstarch

1 can cherry pie filling

1 tsp. almond flavoring

Few drops red food coloring

1/2 cup chopped nuts

*Put rhubarb on lower crust

*Boil sugar, water, and cornstarch until thick. Add food coloring and almond flavoring. Add filling and spoon over rhubarb. Sprinkle rest of crust over top and then nuts. Bake 45 min at 350 degrees.

Leave a Reply

