Laguna Beach Suntanned Chicken

It’s a rainy day today, so it’s a perfect time for me to finally start posting the recipes I have been making. I have 4 recipes waiting to go on the blog! I haven’t counted in a while, but I believe I am in the high 20s on my recipe count for the summer!! If I keep this up, I should have no problem accomplishing my goal. It’s both exciting and depressing to know that I will likely accomplish my goal this summer. As great as it will be to finish that 100th recipe, there’s no excitement or fear of failure involved:( I’m tempted to up my goal, but 100 is such a pretty number!

While today is very rainy, the day I made this recipe was gorgeous and sunny!! It was weather perfect for grilling, so it was a great chance to use that new grilling cookbook! So some grilled chicken is what went into my belly!!

The chicken was marinated in garlic, lemon and basil!! A delicious combination that resulted in flavorful and JUICY chicken! The juiciness was probably the best part!! I marinated it a lot longer than the recipe called for. I don’t know if that’s what caused the juiciness, but if I make it again I wouldn’t want to risk it by marinating for a shorter period of time. I marinated the chicken at around 8 in the morning and we didn’t grill it until around 5:30, which means it had about 9.5 hours to soak up all the goodness!

Blog Pic #43I served the chicken with lots of fresh fruit and my favorite, steamed broccoli with seasoned/season salt (I know I’ve checked before to see weather it’s seasoned or season salt, but I’m too lazy to check again!!, so well just use a slash!!) I could honestly eat an entire head of this broccoli! Nothing special about it really, but I absolutely adore it!

Blog Pic #44So here’s the recipe from that same grilling cookbook I used for those Drippin’ Juicy Burgers. It’s called Retro Barbecue and you can see the book in the first photo!

Laguna Beach Suntanned Chicken

4 good sized boneless, skinless chicken breasts (about 1.5 pounds)

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1/4 cup lemon juice

1 tsp grated lemon peel

1 tsp dried basil leaves

3 medium garlic cloves, finely chopped

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp ground black pepper

1. In a shallow glass baking dish combine the oil, lemon juice, lemon peel, basil, garlic, salt, and pepper. Add in the chicken, turning over several times to coat with marinade. Refrigerate for 1 hour, turning chicken once.

2. Grill approximately 4 inches from medium-heat coals for 5 minutes per side. Poke with your turning fork to see that the juices run clear.

Leave a Reply

