Mississippi Mud Bars

Summer = S’mores!! Bonfires are a wonderful thing. My friend had one just the other night! It was so nice to sit around it and catch up with everyone! I sat nice and close! My face was so hot, but it felt so good. She had tons of s’mores stuff because duh!! While I didn’t have a whole s’more, I did get the chance to enjoy the outer crust of a marshmallow. I love toasting my marshmallows to a golden brown then sliding the outer crunchy layer off. Then I toast the inside again and peel of that layer when it get golden. I’ve determined it’s one of my favorite ways to eat a marshmallow. I also love squishing the marshmallow between my fingers to turn it into “taffy”!! That’s pretty delicious too. Another way I like to enjoy my marshmallows is drenched in chocolate and on top of a rich brownie!

And lucky for me, that’s whats in my belly today!!

My friend and I made these brownies the other night just because, and they turned out wonderful. We ate it straight out of the oven because we just couldn’t wait! I suggest doing this. They’re still good once they’ve set, but we enjoyed the soupy warm mixture!!

Blog Pic #48These bars have three layers. Brownie, marshmallows, and a chocolate frosting. In our case it was more like a chocolate sauce. The recipe said the frosting was supposed to be thick and spreadable, but we followed the directions and got more of a drippy sauce. I think that might have been a good thing though because I couldn’t imagine trying to spread a frosting over warm and toasty marshmallows…

Blog Pic #50I’ll warn you, these brownies are unbelievably rich! My friend and I don’t understand the whole “too sweet” thing, so we had no problem devouring these brownies.

Blog Pic #49The recipe comes from wellplated.com

http://www.wellplated.com/mississippi-mud-pie-bars/#_a5y_p=3346873

Mississippi Mud Bars
Ingredients:

For the Bars

  • 4 tablespoons (1/2 stick) unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup plus 1 tablespoon granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup chocolate chips
  • 1 cup mini marshmallows

For the Frosting

  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
  • 2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 tablespoon milk
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. TO MAKE THE BARS: Preheat the oven to 325°F, and line a 9x5x3-inch loaf pan with parchment paper.
  2. In a medium-size, microwave-safe bowl, combine the butter, sugar, and cocoa powder. Microwave on high for 30 seconds. Stir the mixture very well, and then microwave for another 30 seconds. Carefully remove the bowl from the microwave.
  3. Add the salt and vanilla to the warm butter mixture, and stir for about a minute to cool down the batter. Next, stir in the egg until well combined.
  4. Sprinkle in the flour, and then give the batter about fifty brisk strokes, using a wooden spoon. Stir in the chocolate chips, and then spread the mixture in the prepared loaf pan.
  5. Bake for 23 minutes. A toothpick inserted into the center should have moist crumbs.
  6. Top evenly with the mini marshmallows, and return the pan to the oven for 2 to 5 minutes. The marshmallows will puff up, but it’s best to remove the pan from the oven before they start to brown.
  7. TO MAKE THE FROSTING: Remove the pan from the oven, and then begin making the frosting. Beat together all the ingredients until thick and spreadable. Pour evenly over the marshmallow layer while still warm, and refrigerate until set.
Leave a Reply

