Super Crumb Coffee Cake

Today is the day!!! I bet you are all just so interested in my life that you can’t wait to hear what is happening today! That’s probably terribly untrue, but this is my blog, so I’m going to write whatever I want! Chances are nobody reads this anyway!! So anyways, back to what I was saying. Today is a big day because today I am going on quite the adventure to Nelson’s Ice Cream in Stillwater. If you haven’t been there, you need to go NOW!! Giant sized portions of ice cream for tiny sized portions of money! So last year, we biked our way to Stillwater. It was about 12 miles and took us about an hour to get there! This year, we’re taking it to the next level! The plan is to bike about half way, lock up our likes on a tree or something, and then continue the rest of our journey on foot!! We estimate it will take us about 2 hours this time!! I can hardly wait! Because it takes so long, we’re leaving at 9, so that we get there around 11 when it opens!

I’m currently trying to decide on my flavors! I get to chose two…but which two? Do I play it safe, like I usually do, and only try one new flavor? Or do I take a risk and try two new ones?! I think I really want to try the Campfire Crunch one…but then again I feel like the combination of mint chip and zanzibar (dark chocolate), both of which are not new flavors for me, sounds really good too!! Well at least I have the two hour bike ride/hike to decide. I’m very indecisive!

Another big decision making struggle for me is deciding on what to have for breakfast. We always have so much good food options that I can never pick just one thing to eat (THANKS MOM;)). I end up eating a little bit of everything. This week however, I new exactly what I wanted for breakfast, and so I made a decision and I made it!

Some Super Crumb Coffee Cake is what my belly was craving, so I decided to do my belly a favor and I made some!

Blog Pic #69

This coffee cake was probably the best coffee cake I have ever made (well…its the only one…), but it’s also the best coffee cake I have ever eaten! I couldn’t believe how moist the cake was! It was so tender and delicious!

Blog PIc #71Oh my goodness! And those crumbs! I loved picking them off the top of the cake, and spooning them out of the plate so that the plate looked nice and clean where I had taken my slice! Like see those crumbs in the picture below? Ya those are there only for the picture, after the photo shoot was done, I spooned those right into my mouth!

Blog Pic #70So please do your belly a favor and make this Super Crumb Coffee Cake RIGHT NOW!! If you don’t want a whole coffee cake tempting you…do what I did and bring some to work to share with your co-workers! Their bellies will appreciate it as well!!

Here’s the recipe from sallysbakingaddiction.com

http://sallysbakingaddiction.com/2013/05/01/super-crumb-coffee-cake/

Super-Crumb Coffee Cake

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tablespoon flour, for coating the pan
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup + 2 Tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 10 Tablespoons (1 and 1/4 stick) unsalted butter, firm and cold
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk, at room temperature1
  • 1 large egg, at room temperature2
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2/3 cup packed light or dark brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F. Generously spray a 9-inch springform pan3 with cooking spray or grease with butter. Sprinkle the bottom of the pan with 1 Tablespoon of flour and tap out the excess.
  2. Whisk the flour, sugar, and salt together in a large mixing bowl until combined. Cut in the butter in very small pieces using a pastry blender or mix with a fork until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Set aside 1 cup of the flour mixture.
  3. Mix the baking powder and baking soda into the remaining flour mixture. Add the room temperature buttermilk, egg, and vanilla – you may want to do this with a mixer. The batter is very, very thick. Vigorously mix everything together until the batter is smooth, fluffy, and resembles frosting – about 2 full minutes. Spoon the batter into the prepared springform pan, smoothing the top.
  4. Add the brown sugar and cinnamon to the reserved flour mixture. Toss with a fork until well blended. Sprinkle the crumbs over the batter, pressingly lightly so they stick. Bake the cake until the center is firm and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean – 50-58 minutes. Mine took 55 minutes. Allow to cool for 10 minutes, then remove the sides of the springform pan and allow cake to cool completely before serving (about 2 hours).
  5. Make ahead tip: Cake tastes best on day 1 or day 2. The cake may be made 1 day in advance. Store covered at room temperature for up to 1 week. Cake can be frozen up to 2 months. Thaw overnight in the refrigerator.
Leave a Reply

