Grilled Chicken and Potatoes

So today I am catching up on all of my recipes! After this post I will have made and written about all 39 of the recipes I have made this summer!! (I am still ahead of schedule on my recipe count! 1/3 of the way through summer and more than 1/3 of the way through my recipes!). While I will be finally caught up by the end of this, I will soon fall behind again! This weekend I am at my grandparent’s and as always I will be making lots of food! So I may suddenly be 4 recipes behind again! So before I fall behind again, let’s get started.

So what’s been in my belly??

Well, the short answer is chicken and potatoes, but the long answer is (takes a deep breath) High-Class Grilled Chicken Breasts, Baked Garlic Parmesan Potato Wedges and Slim Potato Casserole. Such long names!

Let’s start with those potatoes! I actually made the slim potato casserole a while ago, but I didn’t take any pictures of it, so I was waiting for another post to slip it into. I was nervous about feeding it to my family because we all love the really buttery, no-so-good-for-you cheesy potato casserole. The one with lots of butter and cheese! I tried the recipe anyway to see if it could compare. It in no way tasted like or really resembled the buttery and cheesy hashbrowns, but it so didn’t matter. It was delicious! Everyone enjoyed it, with only one complaint. The complaint was that it was very salty! Luckily that’s a very simple problem to fix, all I have to do is use less salty stuff next time!!

The same complaint occurred with my next potato recipe. I was a bit surprised that this one was over seasoned because I had used the max number of potatoes for the recipe, and I used a little less salt than the recipe called for…but nonetheless, it was too much salt for my family! The recipe calls for you to cut the potatoes into wedges, but for whatever reason I decided I wanted them cut into flat disks. I soaked my potatoes in cold water before doing anything with them. A recipe told me to do this one time, and I forget the exact reason, but I think it’s supposed to do something with the starches and help the potatoes get crispier…? I could be totally wrong though! I also changed the baking a little bit. Instead of a baking sheet, I placed the potatoes in a large skillet. I also baked them at 400F (for 30 min) because we were running a little behind. It seemed to work out just fine! I really really REALLY love parmesan (The big clumps you see below were my favorite bites!), so I think I am going to need to find an excuse to make these again (with less salt of course).

Blog Pic #73Finally let’s move on to the chicken. The chicken recipe is one of my own creation, but based off of a recipe from that grilling cookbook I love so dearly. The recipe in the book called for TWO sticks of butter!!!! I was not about to waste that much butter, so I decided to create my own version with the same flavors. This recipe is awesome, especially when you forgot or don’t have time to marinade your chicken. I believe it’s called basting…?! Again I could be wrong, but that’s what I have been calling it. You just grill the chicken and brush the butter mixture on as you go. So here’s my recipe/version of High-Class Grilled Chicken Breasts.

Blog Pic #74

Ellie’s High Class-Grilled Chick Breasts

4 chicken breasts

6 tablespoons butter, melted

1 tsp dried basil (we didn’t have enough fresh basil to use:( but I would have used fresh if we had had enough)

1 tablespoon grated parmesan cheese (LOVE that parmesan!!)

1 garlic clove, minced (my own addition!)

1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

salt and pepper to taste (I never put these on until it’s done)

1. Combine butter, basil, parmesan, garlic clove, and garlic powder in a small bowl.

2. Grill the chicken as you normally would. Baste frequently with the butter mixture.

3. Serve chicken and enjoy:)

Here are the other recipes!!

http://lecremedelacrumb.com/2015/04/baked-garlic-parmesan-potato-wedges.html

BAKED GARLIC PARMESAN POTATO WEDGES
INGREDIENTS
3-4 large russet potatoes, sliced into wedges
4 tablespoons olive oil
2 teaspoons salt
2 teaspoons garlic powder
2 teaspoons Italian seasoning
½ cup shredded parmesan cheese
optional: fresh parsley (or cilantro), ranch or blue cheese dressing for dipping

INSTRUCTIONS
Preheat oven to 375. Lightly grease a large baking sheet and set aside.
Place potato wedges in a large bowl. Drizzle with olive oil and toss to coat. In a small bowl whisk together salt, garlic powder, and Italian seasoning. Sprinkle potato wedges with the shredded cheese, tossing to coat, then sprinkle with the seasoning mixture.
Place potato wedges on prepared baking sheet in a single layer with skin-sides-down. Bake for 25-35 minutes until potatoes are fork-tender and golden. Sprinkle with freshly chopped parsley and dressing for dipping.

http://www.thespottedlamb.com/blog/slim-potato-casserole

SLIM POTATO CASSEROLE:

INGREDIENTS:
1 (32oz) bag frozen SHREDDED Hash Browns
1 1/2 cups plain Greek Yogurt
1/2 cup Chicken Broth
1/2 cup Milk (at least 2%)
1 tsp Garlic Powder
1 tsp Onion Powder
1 tsp Season All Salt
1/2 tsp Italian Seasoning
1/2 tsp Black Pepper
1 cup Shredded Cheese (of your choice…but be sure it is NOT low-fat)
Salt and Pepper to taste
*Although this recipe is much lower in fat/calories than the traditional, it still needs some fat to make sure the ingredients bind while cooking…that is why I suggest 2% milk and regular cheese…if you use low fat everything, it will turn out watery….

DIRECTIONS:
PreHeat Oven to 350 degrees.

Combine all ingredients into a large bowl. Grease a 9 X 13 glass or ceramic (no metal!) baking pan with cooking spray. Pour potato mixture into baking pan and spread evenly. Bake uncovered for 55 min.

Leave a Reply

