Apple Crisp Pizza

What did I tell ya? I am now 5 recipes behind! I love going to my grandparents house for many reasons, and one of those reasons is I always get to spend lots and lots of time in the kitchen! I can’t believe that I made 5 recipes in less than 24 hours! I started at about 7 am and kept going until like 7 pm!! Of course I took breaks though. I went boating on the river with my parents! I actually did a little bit of driving which was pretty exciting. I also took a break to go to Lark Toys! What a wonderful place that is! I almost bought another “vintage” lunch box. I already have two though, so I just couldn’t do it! Instead my sister bought her very first one!! It’s so very cute. It has the old fashioned Fruit Loops toucan on it! Other than that though, I spent almost all of my time in the kitchen!

So what ended up in my belly after all of this cooking/baking?

Some Apple Crisp Pizza! This recipe was chosen by my grandma! She always cuts out the recipe column from the local newspaper. She wanted to try this one out, and boy am I happy we did! It’s called a pizza, but we didn’t actually have a pizza pan, so really it was more like a pie…!! That’s totally okay though because the taste was still amazing! Not only did we not have the correct pan, but we also lacked ground cinnamon! Lots of cinnamon sticks, but no ground cinnamon! We got creative though and decided to ground up a cinnamon stick in their nifty little food processor! It had a couple big chunks, but we strained them out. It ended up working really well!! Good thing because warm apple desserts NEED cinnamon!!

Because I spent the entire day in the kitchen, I had a lot of time to take pictures of the food I made, so this recipe has pictures of all the different stages! First let’s look at the apples! I laid them out nice and pretty.

Blog Pic #78Then I put lots of crumble on top and covered up my pretty apple design:(

Blog Pic #77We made this recipe early in the morning, so we decided to keep it in the fridge for the day so that we could bake it as we were eating dinner. That way it was fresh from the oven when it was time for dessert!

Blog Pic #79We served the warm apple “pizza” with a drizzle of caramel sauce and a little scoop of the White Chocolate Pretzel Caramel Cashew Ice Cream that I also made.(That recipe is coming soon:)!!!)

Blog Pic #76Blog Pic #75So all of the credit for this yummy recipe goes to my wonderful grandma;)

Here’s the recipe!!

APPLE CRISP PIZZA

Ingredients

Pastry for a single-crust pie

2/3 cup sugar

3 tbsp all-purpose flour

1 tsp cinnamon

4 med baking apples, peeled and cut into 1/2″ slices

Topping:

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1/3 cup packed brown sugar

1/3 cup rolled oats

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1/4 cup butter, softened

1/4 cup to 1/2 cup caramel ice cream topping

Roll pastry to fit a 12 inch pizza pan; fold under or flute the edges. Combine sugar, flour, and cinnamon in a bowl. Add apples and toss. Arrange the apples in a single layer in a circular pattern to completely cover pastry. Combine the first five topping ingredients; sprinkle over apples. Bake at 350 degrees for 35-40 minutes or until apples are tender. Remove from the over and immediately drizzle with caramel topping. Serve warm with ice cream if desired!

Leave a Reply

