White Chocolate Pretzel Caramel Cashew Ice Cream

So I kind of love nuts!! All kinds! Peanuts, almonds, pecans, walnuts, hazelnuts, and cashews!! I love making them into nut butters, baking them into breads and cookies, mixing them into granola bars, eating them plain and putting them on ice cream! (LOVE THAT CRUNCH!! They in no way replace sprinkles, but they are a close second!) I went to Nelson’s this past Saturday and also a time before that pretty recently! The time before this past Saturday, I tried a new recipe that may be a new favorite! I am actually pretty picky about my ice cream. For example I love chocolate, so of course chocolate ice cream is delicious, but this vanilla ice cream with fudge chunks and a fudge swirl has too much chocolate in my opinion! Well the new flavor I fell in love with was Sea Salt Caramel Nut! Caramel ice cream with a caramel swirl and salted nuts! It was wonderful! Sweet and salty and absolutely wonderful!!:)
So that was in my belly a couple of weeks ago, but this week I have my own sweet and salty ice cream in my belly!!

White Chocolate Pretzel Caramel Cashew Ice Cream!! Such a mouthful, especially when my mouth is full of ice cream!

WARNING!! This ice cream is crazy rich! Like NO milk rich! Most ice creams I have made call for some milk, but this one is straight up cream and half and half! (yes technically half and half is part milk, but still!) This ice cream was scoopable again, even without eggs or sweetened condensed milk! So I think I figured out the secret to scoopable ice cream! It might not have anything to do with eggs or sweetened condensed milk. Instead I think it’s related to the amount of fat in the recipe! The vanilla ice cream recipe that the machine comes with calls for cream and milk, no egg yolks and no sweetened condensed milk. Because of the milk, it must have a lower fat content,m which makes it more watery, which makes it more solid when frozen…? I think that makes sense!

This ice cream was extremely soft! It never really froze at all! I wish it would have gotten a little firmer, but hey it’s still ice cream!

Blog Pic #84

I had to take the pictures very, very quickly, so they aren’t the best! When I went back to look at them on my computer, I found that about half of them were blurry:( I did the best with what I could:)

Blog Pic #85So if you want to get a mouthful of some rich, creamy, indulgent, sweet and salty, frozen goodness follow the recipe below!! The only additional thing I did was swirl in some caramel sauce as we poured it into the tupperweare to finish freezing!

http://lecremedelacrumb.com/2014/08/white-chocolate-pretzel-caramel-cashew-ice-cream.html

WHITE CHOCOLATE PRETZEL CARAMEL CASHEW ICE CREAM
INGREDIENTS
3 cups heavy cream
2 cups half and half
1 cup sugar
⅔ cup caramel sauce (homemade or store-bought caramel ice cream topping)
3 teaspoons vanilla
1 cup roughly chopped cashews (I prefer salted but you can use unsalted as well)
2 cups white chocolate-dipped pretzels, roughly chopped (you can buy these or make them yourself – if you want to make them at home, simply melt ½ cup white chocolate chips and dip 2 cups of small pretzels into the chocolate. Place them in the freezer for 10-15 minutes to harden before starting your ice cream)
optional: additional caramel sauce

INSTRUCTIONS
In a large bowl combine heavy cream, half and half, sugar, caramel sauce, and vanilla and mix until sugar is dissolved and caramel sauce is incorporated.
Pour mixture into your ice cream maker. After about 20 minutes, add the cashews and pretzels to the machine. Continue to freeze according to your machine’s instructions.
Serve immediately for a soft serve treat OR for a more firm ice cream, transfer mixture to a couple of large shallow containers and freeze for an additional 2-4 hours. Store covered in the freezer.
NOTES
*cook time refers to time required by some ice cream makers. this will need to be adjusted to your ice cream maker and there will be additional freezing time if you desire a more firm ice cream.

 

Leave a Reply

