Mexican Tomato Rice and Beans

So this weekend I spent a whole lot of time in the kitchen, and this coming weekend I’m going to be spending even more time in that same kitchen! I love it so much, but this means that I am going to be like 10 posts behind! I thought I’d post another recipe today to reduce the amount I’ll be falling behind! I already posted a dessert recipe today…so to balance everything out, I will now be talking about a healthy little side dish!

So what is this healthy side dish that’s in my belly today?!

Mexican Tomato Rice and Beans!! I made this as a side for some fajitas we had for dinner this weekend! (The fajita’s marinade came from a little jar, so I have no recipe to share for that!) It’s a pretty healthy recipe! Black beans, tomatoes, and rice! That all sounds good to me:)

Blog Pic #86

I was quite impressed by this little recipe! It was pretty simple and was exactly what I needed alongside my fajitas. Now, we did have to make a trip to the grocery store for this recipe, but it only had everyday ingredients! I think if we would have been at my house we would not have needed the run to the store! Que Sera Sera!! I love the grocery store, so I don’t mind the extra trip one little bit!

I finished the rice a little early, so it had to sit for a while before we ate it! This made it a little extra sticky, but I liked it that way! I was able to fork pieces of it into my mouth!!:)

Blog Pic #87

I made a couple of slight changes to the recipe, like I almost always do! I completely got rid of the jalapeño pepper! I am not a spicey person plus we didn’t have one so it was perfect! We used white rice because that’s what my grandpa had, but normally I think I would have used brown rice because I think it tastes better, but that’s probably a me thing!!

Also I should mention that the photos were taken by my younger sister again! She likes helping every once in a while, and when she does she wants me to make sure to mention that I didn’t take the photos!

Here’s the recipe!:)

http://www.ahintofhoney.com/2014/05/mexican-tomato-rice-beans/

Mexican Tomato Rice and Beans

INGREDIENTS

1 cup uncooked medium grain white or brown rice
14.5 oz can diced tomatoes
2 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
6 cloves garlic, minced
1 medium jalapeno, ribs and seeds removed (or not if you like it extra spicy) and minced (optional)
15 oz. can black beans, drained and rinsed
1 1/2 tsp. kosher salt
2 tsp. ground cumin
1 tsp. chili powder
1/4 cup fresh oregano, chopped (or 1 tsp. dried)
1/4 cup fresh cilantro, chopped

DIRECTIONS

1. In a medium saucepan, combine the rice with 2 cups cold water. Bring to a boil over medium-high heat, cover, reduce the heat to low, and cook for 20 min (if you are using brown rice increase the cooking time according to the package directions). Remove from the heat and let the pan stand, covered, for another 5 min.

2. While the rice steams, set a fine sieve in a bowl and drain the can of tomatoes. Pour the tomato juices into a 1-cup liquid measure. Add enough water to the tomato juices to equal 1 cup.

3. Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Pour in the oil and stir-fry the garlic and jalapeño until the garlic browns and the jalapeño smells pungent, about 1 minute. Add the black beans, salt, cumin, and chili powder; stir two to three times to incorporate the mixture and cook the spices, about 30 seconds. Stir in the tomato juice and water mixture and bring to a boil. Adjust the heat to maintain a gentle boil and cook, stirring occasionally, until the beans absorb much of the liquid, 5-7 minutes. Add the tomatoes, oregano, cilantro, and cooked rice and cook, stirring occasionally, until the rice is warm, 1 to 2 minutes. Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

