Lois’ Banana Bars

Two dessert posts in one day…? No shame!! I eat multiple desserts in a day sometimes! Like today! I had some chips ahoy at work and then had some melty mints from my sister! Do you know the mints I am talking about? They’re pink, green, and yellow with white SpIiNkLeS on the bottom.Wonderful little bites of heaven!! They are one of my favorite treats! My sister got them for the weekend because they’re good, but also because she knows I love them:) What a sweetie:)

Speaking of sweet things, lets talk about what’s in my belly today!

We had about 6 bananas staring at me in the fridge, and my mom wanted me to make these bars! Because I know these bars are AMAZING, I agreed to her request!! I’m claiming these to be a new recipe because this was the first time I made them. Therefore they are worked into my summer count! (Recipe #45 I believe)

Blog Pic #92So this recipe makes a crazy amount of bars!! It says to make it on a 10 by 15 inch jelly roll pan…I used like a 15 by 20 and they were still wonderful! I thought we were going to have WAY to many of them on our hands, but I made them on Tuesday and they are all gone…Granted I took some to a meeting at work, but still!! This shows you just how good they are!

Blog Pic #94

These bars honestly don’t need any frosting! They are so moist and sweet, but don’t you dare leave THIS frosting off of the bars! It’s incredible and 100% necessary! I think it’s that almond extract! Almond extract is like THE BEST flavoring in the world! If a recipe has it, I have no doubt in my mind that I will love it!

Blog Pic #93This recipe came from a cookbook created by some student’s at my old school! It’s filled with family favorite recipes of the students and teachers from the school! It’s a miracle we found this recipe in the pages and pages of recipes, but we did and boy am I happy:)

So here’s the recipe so you too can make some of these bars!! I didn’t change anything, but next time I am going to try substituting greek yogurt for the sour cream to see if I can taste the difference! If not, then hey I just added some protien to my dessert!!

LOIS’ BANANA BARS

1 1/2 cups sugar

1/2 cup butter

2 eggs

1 cup sour cream

3 ripe bananas, mashed

2 teaspoons vanilla

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

2 cups flour

Cream together sugar, butter, eggs, sour cream, banana, and vanilla. Add soda, salt and flour which have been mixed together. Put into greased and floured 10 by 15 inch jelly roll pan (or bigger). Bake at 350F for 25 to 30 min. Use a toothpick in middle to test.

Frosting:

1/4 cup butter

3 cups powdered sugar

3-4 oz. cream cheese

2 teaspoons almond extract

Melt butter and cream cheese on stove or in microwave and pour over powdered sugar, add almond extract. Beat until creamy. Frost cooled bars, then lick that frosting bowl clean:)

Leave a Reply

