Local Farmers’ Market Pizza

Summer is a wonderful time for many reasons, but one of the best parts of summer is all the summer produce!! I’m talking cherries, peaches, and strawberries! Then there’s the veggies like zucchini, green beans, and sweet (…which isn’t technically a veggie, but it’s weird to call it a grain, so let’s pretend it’s a veggie!) I love a good corn on the cob in the summer. So bright and colorful:) Recently I bought a weird contraption for cooking corn over the fire. It was at a flea market for $2, so I went for it. That same night, we made some sweet corn over the fire! Easiest thing ever!! We let the corn soak in water in the sink for about 20 minutes with the husks on, then we put it in my little corn contraption thing-a-ma-bob and set it over the fire. We let it cook for a while (the husks got pretty black in some spots). When we took them off of the fire, we simply peeled the husks off and ate it, holding the handle of corn husks! It peeled unbelievably easy and tasted really good! We will definitely be making more corn like that this summer:) Besides eating corn on the cob, there are other wonderful ways to enjoy this wonderful veggie/grain! One unexpected way is through this pizza!

Because I love corn so much, this pizza definitely made it into my belly!

Talk about toppings! This little pizza was piled mile high with tons and tons of toppings! I mean the toppings had toppings! It might as well have been called deep dish! There was onion, garlic, bell peppers, that wonderful sweet corn, FRESH mozzarella (my first time making pizza with this kind of cheese), parmesan, cherry tomatoes and basil! I tend to not read recipes completely before I start them, and now as I read this recipe through I see that this was supposed to be made into a 16-inch pizza…we made it into like a 10 inch pizza… that may help explain the abundance of toppings…but honestly I liked it with all the toppings falling off as I ate it! Toppings > Crust!

Blog PIc #98

Because I didn’t really read the recipe, I almost forgot to saute the vegetables before baking them on the pizza! ALMOST!! I remembered right before we started placing them on, so just in time! Sauteing didn’t take very long, so it didn’t really put us behind schedule!

The pizza dough we used was homemade! It’s my favorite recipe probably! It’s called “Fail-Proof Pizza Dough” and it has yet to fail me! Here’s a link to the recipe! http://www.laurenslatest.com/fail-proof-pizza-dough-and-cheesy-garlic-bread-sticks-just-like-in-restaurants/

Here are a couple of my pizza making tips!

1. Preheat your skillet. I always put it in the oven while it’s preheating to 425F. This way the pan is already hot when you put the dough in. This helps the crust get nice and crispy and golden, rather than soggy. However, this also means that the skillet is HOT! Be careful when your putting your dough in!!

2. Put a little, tiny bit of oil in the bottom of the skillet before laying the dough in to prevent sticking! Optionally, you could also sprinkle in some corn meal.

3. Bake the crust for a little before putting the toppings and cheese on. We never get it to the point where it starts browning on the top, just until it starts getting kind of puffy and has a light little crust when you touch it.

4. Make a mixture of some garlic-y seasoning and olive oil. I spread this in the bottom of the pan and on the edges of the crust to help it brown.

I think that’s all the tips I have!

Blog Pic #99Now go and try this pizza right NOW!! I don’t car if its only like 7am! This is deliciousness that needs to get in your belly! Everyone here loved the pizza. I don’t say this very often, but I WILL be making this pizza again this summer:) Probably along with a NEW pizza recipe because I am still me, and I have to always try something new!

You can taste every flavor on this pizza! I think I’ll add some more sweet corn next time because that was by far the best of the toppings! I loved the blistered tomatoes and the perfectly tender onions and peppers! the crust complimented the pizza perfectly. We pushed the crust up on the edges of the skillet because we had a little more that we needed, and boy am I glad we did because it worked as a little cage for all of those toppings!

Look at the beauty of this colorful little pizza!

Blog Pic #100

When we bit into the pizza, toppings fell off every which way! That was good though, because then we could scoop them off of the plate and eat them. Remember, Toppings>Crust!!

So here’s the recipe. It’s from that same pizza cookbook I used before! I’ll put the changes I made in parenthesis().

Blog Pic #32LOCAL FARMERS’ MARKET PIZZA

1 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil

2 cups thinly sliced onion (we used 1 cup)

1 tsp chopped fresh thyme (we didn’t use this at all)

2 cups thinly sliced red pepper (we just cut up one big red pepper and didn’t measure)

5 garlic cloves

1 cup fresh corn kernels/2 ears (we only used one:(, use TWO)

1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper

1/4 tsp salt

1 lb prepared pizza dough (we use half of what the recipe I gave you makes!)

5 oz thinly sliced fresh mozzarella cheese (we used what we wanted and didn’t measure)

1/3 cup grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese (we just sprinkled a little shredded parmesan on top)

1 cup cherry tomatoes, halved

1/3 cup fresh basil leaves (we didn’t measure)

1. Preheat oven to 425F (we put the skillet in while preheating).

2. Heat a large non-stick skillet over med-high heat. Add olive oil to pan, swirl to coat. Add onion and thyme to pan (just onion for us); cook three minutes or until onion is tender, stirring occasionally. Add bell pepper and garlic to pan; cook 2 min, stirring occasionally. Add corn, black pepper, and salt to pan; cook one min or until mixture is thoroughly heated.

3. Roll dough into 16-inch circle (or to fit pan in our case) on a lightly floured surface. Remove skillet from oven. Lightly brush with olive oil (we used the garlic seasoned olive oil stuff) or cooking spray. Place dough in pan (this is where we baked ours for a couple of min to help the crust cook). Arrange mozzarella slices evenly over dough. Spread corn and veggie mixture evenly over cheese. Top with tomatoes and parmigiano-reggiano cheese (or parmesan in our case). Bake at 425F for 23 min (we didn’t watch the time, we just watched the pizza). Remove from oven when it the crust is golden and it looks done (very scientific;)!!) Top with fresh basil and serve!!

4. Watch the pizza disappear!!

Leave a Reply

