Butterscotch Banana Bread

Today is a very very big day!! Today is the day I am posting my 50th recipe!! Yes, I am halfway there! I am just realizing now that I should have made a cake or at least something with sprinkles to celebrate this occasion! I’ll have to remember that for recipes 75 and 100 perhaps!! I can’t believe how quickly I am going through recipes this summer! It seems so much easier than last summer. I have no idea what changed, but I’m glad that whatever changed did indeed change! You know what else changed this week? My life!

This recipe that’s in my belly today changed my life!!! For the better!!:)

I made some Butterscotch Banana bread because we had a tiny bag of butterscotch chips left and bananas sitting in the freezer. Because I didn’t want to make a whole loaf I estimated and made about 1/3 of the recipe!! I don’t really measure my ingredients super carefully when I bake. I don’t even bother leveling the flour I use, and when it comes to vanilla I usually pour until it overflows a little so that I use extra vanilla!! My measuring has yet to effect my recipes, so I’m going to keep on doing it!

Now, moving on to why this banana bread changed my life! Two words: Caramelized Butterscotch!!! YES!! The butterscotch chips melted and caramelized into the bread! Can you tell in the picture below?

Blog Pic #112

The butterscotch chips MADE this bread! The bread is super moist and banana-y as it should be, which already makes for a wonderful bread, but then those butterscotch chips are added and they take this bread to the next level! I absolutely adore butterscotch. I always have! So when I saw this recipe I new it would be good, but I had no idea just how good it would be! Whereas yesterday’s tart fell short of my expectations, this bread flew way beyond my expectations! Caramelized butterscotch is a beautiful thing!

Blog Pic #111

So go grab some bananas and butterscotch chips and make this bread today! And don’t be silly like me and make 1/3 of the recipe. Make the whole dang thing and then gobble it all up!

http://www.sixsistersstuff.com/2013/10/butterscotch-banana-bread-recipe.html

Butterscotch Banana Bread Recipe:
(Makes 1 9″x5″ loaf)

Ingredients:
3 ripe bananas, mashed
1 large egg
1/2 cup vegetable oil
3/4 cup granulated sugar
3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup butterscotch chips

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  In a large bowl, combine mashed bananas, egg, vegetable oil and sugar.  Stir in cinnamon, nutmeg, salt, baking soda and baking powder.  Add flour and mix until combined.  Fold in butterscotch chips.  Pour batter into a greased 9″x5″ bread pan and bake for 55 minutes or until golden brown on top and an inserted toothpick comes out clean.

Leave a Reply

