Whoppers Brownies

Another big weekend is coming my way!! Today I leave to go camping with my sisters!!:) I can’t wait. We’re going to go hiking, swimming, and exploring. I planned out a fun camping menu that includes omelettes in a bag, Doritos nacho skillet, pancakes, hot dogs, and veggies in tinfoil! We’re also bringing card games, board games, the volleyball, and tons of other activities to keep us busy! Of course there will also be s’more making and story-telling by the campfire! S’mores are one of the best things about camping and bonfires!! It doesn’t get much better than crispy graham crackers stuffed with smooth chocolate and a crispy and creamy marshmallow. However, it’s always fun to experiment with a classic even though usually a classic is hard to beat! You can use different graham crackers like cinnamon or chocolate, or you can get real crazy and ditch the graham crackers all together and go for a chocolate chip cookie, a fudge stripe cookie, an Oreo, or even a Ritz cracker! How about switching up the chocolate? Maybe trying some cookies and cream or a Ghiradelli filled with caramel (gourmet s’more anyone?). How about adding some spreads to your s’more like peanut butter, cookie butter, or nutella. These are just a couple of the hundreds and hundreds of ways to change up your s’mores!!

But until I start filling my belly with these interesting s’mores combinations, I will be filling my belly with this interesting combination!

Whoppers Brownies!! Rich and fudgy brownies flavored with malt powder, filled with Whoppers, glazed with some chocolate, and garnished with even more Whopper goodness!

Blog Pic #117I still have about half a container of malt powder I need to use up before it goes bad, so that’s why I found the recipe for these brownies. When I discovered we had a half empty container of whoppers, I quickly hid them to save them for these brownies! Whoppers do not last long in this house, so the hiding was indeed necessary!! Is it just me or is it fun to use up something? Whether it’s a notebook, a bag of chocolate chips, a pen, or in this case a box of candy, I always find joy in using it up! Haha! I really enjoy when I get to break apart a cereal box and put it in the recycling! Ya…it’s definitely weird, but at least I’m enjoying the little things:) Speaking of little things, let’s enjoy these little Whopper bits!!!

Blog Pic #118

Now let’s enjoy some dripping chocolate!

Blog Pic #119After taking all of these photos, I started to wonder if the Whoppers Brownies would be any good. How depressing would it be to get beautiful pictures and then have to say that they were no good! Lucky for me, they were DELICIOUS! Brownies are always fabulous! And like I said Whoppers go fast in my house, so of course these were going to be a hit!!:)

You can’t really taste the malt powder that’s mixed into the batter of the brownies, but you get a nice crunch from the Whoppers in and on top of the brownies. Texture is my best friend, so I especially appreciated this factor! So if you’re a whopper fan and a brownie fan, get to your kitchen and make these babies pronto!

Blog Pic #120

The recipe comes from mybakingaddiction.com

http://www.mybakingaddiction.com/whoppers-brownies/#comment-95127

The only thing I changed was that I didn’t make the ganache. I just drizzled the brownies with melted semi sweet chocolate (adding a little oil to thin it out so it drizzled easier!)

Whoppers Brownies
yield: 12 BROWNIES prep time: 10 MINUTES cook time: 30-35 MINUTES
Ingredients:
4 ounces unsweetened chocolate; coarsely chopped
3/4 cup unsalted butter, cut into cubes
1 1/4 cups sugar
3 eggs
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup malted milk powder (I used Carnation)
1 1/2 cup Whoppers, choppedFOR THE GANACHE
4 ounces semisweet chocolate, chopped
1/2 cup heavy cream

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line an 8×8 inch baking pan with foil and spray with nonstick cooking spray.
2. Microwave chocolate and butter in a large bowl microwave-safe bowl at medium (50% power) for 3-4 minutes or until butter is melted.
3. Stir until chocolate is melted. Whisk in sugar, eggs, vanilla and salt. Gradually add in flour and malted milk powder; stir until just combined.
4. Spread 1/2 the batter into prepared pan. Add an even layer of chopped Whoppers and cover with remaining 1/2 of brownie batter. Bake for 30-35 minutes; do not over bake.
5. Remove to cooling rack to cool completely. Before serving, prepare the ganache.
6. To make the ganache, pour the chopped chocolate into a medium mixing bowl, set aside. Pour the heavy cream into a microwave safe measuring cup (Pyrex) and microwave on high for about 1 minute or until bubbles begin to form on the surface. Take care to not overheat because the cream will boil over. Pour the hot cream over the chocolate and allow it to sit for about 3 minutes. Use a small whisk to combine the mixture into a smooth chocolate glaze. Spoon the ganache over the brownies. If desired, top with additional chopped Whoppers.

Notes:
– I purchased the Whoppers at Target in movie theater sized boxes.
– Make sure you chop the Whoppers, they do harden a bit during the cooking process, so you don’t want the pieces to be too big. However, if you pulverize them they’ll completely disappear.
– Wait until just before serving to top your brownies with the ganache and additional chopped Whoppers.
– The brownies are very fudgy, make sure you allow them to cool completely before cutting into them.

Leave a Reply

