Apple, White Cheddar, and Spinach Salad with Honey-Apple Cider Vinaigrette

Holy Cow! I haven’t fallen in love with a recipe in a while, but I have fallen hard for this one!

What’s in my belly you ask??

Apple, White Cheddar, and Spinach Salad with Honey-Apple Cider Vinaigrette!! That pretty much just listed everything in the salad!! I love long titles! The spinach of this salad is covered in white cheddar, orange flavored cranberries, apples (of the pink lady variety), and almonds. Tons of texture!! It is then drenched in the most delicious dressing I have ever made!!! That’s not saying a whole lot, because I don’t make dressings very often, but it also may be the best dressing I have ever had period!!

Blog Pic #124The dressing was so so simple, and I will definitely be making it again!! It only had olive oil, apple cider vinegar, honey, honey mustard, salt, and pepper. Seriously, even if you don’t have all the ingredients for the salad, make this dressing!! It would go good on any fruity spinach salad.

We had all of the ingredients for this salad on hand, but that was a rare occurrence. We just recently went to Trader Joes and got the cranberries, my sister just moved back from her house sitting adventure and she brought with her white cheddar and almonds, and finally my mom and I just went grocery shopping and we got a couple bags of spinach! Everything aligned perfectly, so I knew I had to make the salad before my luck ran out!!

Blog Pic #123So as fate would have it, I made this salad and I fell in love!! I am now in the salad mood ALL THE TIME!! Expect more salad recipes soon!!

This salad would be absolutely perfect to bring to a party or family gathering this summer! I can’t wait to have the chance to make it again! I don’t even care if it means repeating a recipe, it is so good!!!

This recipe comes from averiecooks.com (it’s recipes like this that make my love for her site even stronger<3)

Apple, White Cheddar, and Spinach Salad with Honey-Apple Cider Vinaigrette

INGREDIENTS:

Salad
about 6 cups fresh spinach
1 large apple, cored and sliced very thin (try Envy, Gala, Fuji, or similar)
1 cup grated aged white cheddar
1/2 cup dried orange-flavored cranberries (I use Trader Joe’s; plain dried cranberries may be substituted)
1/2 cup sliced almonds

Honey-Apple Cider Vinaigrette 
1/4 cup olive oil
1/4 cup honey
1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
2 teaspoons honey mustard
3/4 teaspoon salt, or to taste
3/4 teaspoon black pepper, or to taste

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Salad – To a large bowl or platter, add all ingredients in the order listed; set aside.
  2. Honey-Apple Cider Vinaigrette – In a small glass jar or container with a lid, add all ingredients, put the lid on and shake vigorously until combined; taste vinaigrette and tweak as necessary to taste. Drizzle over salad, toss to combine, and serve immediately. If you don’t use all the vinaigrette, extra will keep airtight in the fridge for up to 1 week.
Leave a Reply

