Kneader’s Cranberry Sunflower Salad

I am so tired of taking all of my blog photos on the same plates, with the same backgrounds. SO BORING!! I need to go out and buy some fun and decorative dishes! I know this is maybe a little silly, but it’s something I just need to do! Maybe after work today I can stop at goodwill and see what I can find. I don’t really have much of a blog budget…in fact I don’t have one at all, so goodwill will have to do until I get super famous and make millions of dollars! Right after I teach my pigs to fly! So while I wish I had a pretty plate to compliment the pretty colors in this salad, these pictures will have to do.

Today my belly is filled with yet another delicious salad!

This Kneader’s Cranberry Sunflower Salad is another new favorite of mine!! I am in full on salad mode! I can’t seem to get enough of them. I brought this gourmet looking salad to work with me and had a first class lunch in the school cafeteria sitting next to little children eating their lunchables! While I do love lunchables (which may be because I never got them as a child, so they are forever seen as a special treat in my mind), it’s hard to beat a salad, especially with raspberries, golden chicken, fresh mozzarella, sunflower seeds, cranberries, and a wonderful dressing made of raspberry vinaigrette and creamy poppy seed dressing! The best part was that it tasted fancy and elegant, but it was so easy to make.

Blog Pic #129

We had all of the ingredients at my house, except the red onion, but I just skipped that. I simply cooked the chicken in a pan to golden perfection, sliced the cheese into cubes (no cutting of cheese here;)), mixed up my dressing and sprinkled the other ingredients on top!

I love, love, love fresh mozzarella. I hadn’t had it before that Local Farmer’s Market Pizza, and now I am so glad I tried it! It has such a different texture and taste than a block of mozzarella. Tonight I think I am actually going to make a Margherita Pizza with it, along with some fresh basil from our plant on the porch! Perhaps I’ll eat that pizza with a side salad…perhaps this salad because I need an excuse to make it again!

Blog Pic #128

So if you have a love for salads or you are just trying to be healthy this summer, make this salad. You will not be sorry:)

The “recipe” is below, and the only thing I changed was the dressing. I used two parts vinaigrette to one part poppy seed dressing. So for my salad I mixed 2 T of vinaigrette with 1 T creamy poppy seed dressing. Don’t be shy about the dressing, it truly makes the salad amazing. I made a single serving, so I didn’t really measure my toppings. I just put exactly how much of everything I wanted! The recipe was more for a list of ingredients, rather than directions to follow!

The recipe comes from lecremedelacrumb.com

http://lecremedelacrumb.com/2015/05/kneaders-cranberry-sunflower-salad.html

KNEADER’S CRANBERRY SUNFLOWER SALAD
Serves: 4-6
INGREDIENTS
8 cups mixed spring greens
2 cups diced or sliced cooked chicken or turkey breast
½ red onion, thinly sliced
½ cup diced mozzarella cheese or mozzarella balls
⅓ cup dried cranberries
⅓ cup sunflower seeds (shelled)
½ cup creamy poppyseed dressing
½ cup raspberry vinaigrette

INSTRUCTIONS
Whisk together poppyseed dressing and raspberry vinaigrette. Store chilled until ready to use.
In a large bowl toss together all remaining salad ingredients. Serve with chilled prepared dressing.

Leave a Reply

