Honey Mustard Chicken Chopped Salad

Let’s get back to salads! My obsession is still going strong!!

So what salad is in my belly now?

My latest salad is this Honey Mustard Chicken Chopped Salad! I made it with my friend Rose the other night! It was absolutely wonderful in every way! She and I talked about how great salads are because each bite is completely different than the one before it! Sometimes you get a little of everything! Sometimes a big chunk of something! The only thing consistent about this salad is it’s deliciousness.

Let me walk you through all of it’s ingredients because it’s what I love to do! LOOK!! I laid all of the ingredients out so you can see each and every one!

Blog Pic #137Lets start with the lettuce! Haha! Well it’s simply romaine lettuce, but I love lots of greens in my salad, so it is absolutely essential! I especially love the whiter part of the lettuce towards the bottom of the leaf because it’s nice and crunchy!!

Moving on to the chicken! I didn’t really follow the recipe for this part, I simply sprayed a pan with some olive oil, sprinkled some salt and pepper on, and cooked until each side was crispy and golden! I don’t know what it is about this chicken, because really there is nothing special about it, but it’s so perfect and juicy and delicious and I love love LOVE it!

TOMATOES! One of my favorite ingredients on this salad! I think about 1/3 of my salad was tomatoes! It’s the same way when I make my taco salads! I pile them on!! We used Roma tomatoes because that’s what the recipe said, but also because they are cheaper;)

Now for the red onions! If I am in the mood, I can eat red onions plain! Lucky for me I was definitely in the mood for them when I ate this salad! They added a nice flavor to the salad that I really really liked! I don’t know how to describe an onion flavor…do you?

Let’s talk feta cheese! Holy cow!! One of my favorite cheeses of all time (it doesn’t beat parmesan though!)!! Especially for salads! It’s so unique and wonderful! Its crumbly, and creamy, and tangy! On salads, it’s cold, but you should really try it melted on my Bistro Grilled Chicken Pizza on the blog! Believe me it will change the way you see feta cheese!!

Those wonton strips! Wowza! I enjoyed those a lot more than I thought I would! I mean anything with crunch is bound to win my heart, so I should have suspected it! I already looked up more salad recipes that use the wonton strips because I can’t wait to eat them again! I thought it was a little odd to put them on a salad that wasn’t…well…Asian inspired…but believe me it is not weird! It is a beautiful thing! Pile those babies on!

Finally let’s talk dressing! Healthy Dressing;) It uses Greek yogurt. Greek yogurt is kind of amazing! You can lighten up almost anything by subbing Greek yogurt for things like mayo and sour cream! Tomorrow I am even marinating chicken in it!! Recipe will be coming soon! After Rose made the dressing we both tried it and thought it pretty much tasted like honey mustard… this made us a little nervous, but once we put it on the salad it fit perfectly!

All those individually awesome ingredients came together and made this aWeSoMe salad!!!

Blog Pic #139

I would also like to give even more credit to my friend Rose! (She and my mom were giving me a hard time for not giving credit every single time somebody helps! In my defense, I have never TAKEN  credit for something I didn’t do!) Rose helped me buy the ingredients at the grocery store (aka my favorite place in the world!), chop up the tomatoes (which were the perfect size!!), make the dressing (with extra garlic!!), and she helped me determine when the chicken was done cooking! I think that cover everything, but if not it is purely by accident not because I want credit for everything else! Oh and she also chose the bowl in which I put the salad! I think that’s it;)

Blog Pic #138

So here’s the recipe if you’re still loving salads like me!!

http://lecremedelacrumb.com/2014/03/honey-mustard-chicken-chopped-salad.html

HONEY MUSTARD CHICKEN CHOPPED SALAD
INGREDIENTS
2 boneless skinless chicken breasts, pounded to ½ inch thickness
½ teaspoon each salt, pepper, and garlic powder
2 roma tomatoes, diced
6 cups chopped romaine lettuce
½ red onion, diced
½ cup crumbled feta cheese
1 cup crunchy wonton strips (found next to the salad dressings with the croutons)
1 cup honey mustard dressing (see below!)
INSTRUCTIONS
Preheat oven to 375. Grease a shallow baking dish with cooking spray. Season chicken breasts with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Place chicken breasts in a single layer in prepared baking dish. Cover with foil. Cook 15-20 minutes until chicken is cooked through and juices run clear. Dice chicken.
In a large bowl toss together lettuce, onion, feta, chicken, and tomatoes. Top with wonton strips and serve with honey mustard dressing. Enjoy

http://lecremedelacrumb.com/2014/03/creamy-honey-mustard-dressing.html

CREAMY HONEY MUSTARD DRESSING {LIGHTENED UP}
INGREDIENTS
½ cup fat free plain greek yogurt
2 tablespoons yellow mustard
3½ tablespoons honey
¼ teaspoon pepper
½ teaspoon garlic powder
¼ teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon lemon juice
INSTRUCTIONS
Whisk together all ingredients in a bowl. Cover and chill until ready to serve. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

