Sweet and Tangy Jerk Chicken with Caramelized Pineapple and Mango

I honestly am so angry with myself for not taking better photos for this recipe. The weather was bad again the night that I made this recipe…and I was feeling lazy,,,,and the pictures just didn’t happen…and now I just want to go back in time and take decent photos. They don’t have to be amazing, just better than the gross ones I have now. There are a lot of photos in this post because I was trying so hard to edit them and make them nicer, but I had no luck!

But you know what is lucky?? MY BELLY!! Because it had the pleasure of enjoying this recipe!

This sweet and peppery, NOT SPICY (my sister informed me that it was not spicy, but my mouth would beg to differ!! It was kind of on fire a little, but I am pretty weak) chicken was super yummy! It had quite a bit of pepperyness/spiciness (are those even words??) to it and I used only half the jerk seasoning and didn’t put any extra on the chicken. I am so glad I did because I would not have been able to handle any more spice!

Blog PIc #141

My favorite part however was not the chicken. Instead, my favorite part was the caramelized fruit!! You know I love fresh fruit more than anything, but this caramelized fruit rocked my world a little! Still not better than fresh fruit on a hot day though! It kind of reminded me of the deep fried pineapple we have when we fondue around New Years Eve, but it was much healthier and had a nice little natural glaze to it!

Here’s an ugly picture to show you!

Blog PIc #142

Along with caramelized fruit, I also decided to make make some peppers in some of the extra sauce from the chicken. I am so glad I did! I was so proud of myself for thinking of adding that to the recipe, so I am going to take full credit for that addition! The sauce got nice and thick around the peppers, and they added even more color to this golden-y recipe!

Blog Pic #143

We had such a colorful dinner that night! I mean LOOK!

Blog Pic #140

With so many pretty colors, you think I could have taken better photos…:( I am still a little bitter!

So here’s the recipe! Remember to decrease the jerk seasoning if you’re weak like me (note: my mom and sister did NOT find it spicy) and use fresh fruit because YUMMM!!

http://www.averiecooks.com/2015/04/sweet-and-tangy-jerk-chicken-with-caramelized-pineapple-and-mango.html

Sweet and Tangy Jerk Chicken with Caramelized Pineapple and Mango

INGREDIENTS:

Chicken

  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup pineapple juice
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil for sauce + 1 tablespoon for cooking chicken
  • 2 tablespoons light brown sugar, packed
  • 1 tablespoon jerk seasoning for sauce + more for sprinkling over chicken
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt, or to taste
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper, or to taste
  • 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts (about 1 1/2 pounds)

Caramelized Pineapple and Mango

  • 1/2 to 1 tablespoon coconut oil (or another preferred oil)
  • about 1 cup pineapple chunks (fresh is preferred)
  • about 1 cup mango chunks (fresh is preferred)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt, optional and to taste

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Chicken – To a medium bowl or large measuring cup, add the honey, pineapple juice, lemon juice, apple cider vinegar, 2 tablespoons olive oil, brown sugar, 1 tablespoon jerk seasoning, salt, pepper, and stir to combine; set aside.
  2. To a large skillet, add 1 tablespoon olive oil, generously sprinkle each chicken breast on both sides with jerk seasoning. Add chicken to skillet and cook chicken over medium-high heat for 3 to 4 minutes on each side so that it has a nice sear. Cooking time will vary based on thickness of chicken breasts. Chicken should be about 80 to 90% cooked through.
  3. Remove skillet from heat, turn heat to medium-low, and carefully add the sauce noting that it will bubble up vigorously in the first few seconds.
  4. Place skillet back on the heat and allow chicken to cook for about 10 minutes, or until sauce has thickened and reduced some, has darkened in color, and chicken is cooked through. Flip chicken a few times throughout. While chicken cooks, caramelize the fruit.
  5. Caramelized Pineapple and Mango – To a separate large skillet, add the coconut oil, pineapple, mango, optionally sprinkle with salt, and cook over medium-high heat until golden brown and caramelized, about 8 minutes, flipping every few minutes to ensure all sides are evenly cooked.
  6. Top chicken with caramelized fruit and serve immediately. Chicken and fruit are best warm and fresh, but leftovers will keep airtight in the fridge for up to 3 days. I store fruit and chicken separately.
Leave a Reply

