Pizza Supreme

More Pizza Pizzazz because you can never have too much of a good thing!! Actually you can! Be careful people! Too much of anything can be bad! Eat everything in moderation;) Variety is the spice of life!

This week was supposed to be all about filling my dad’s belly with his favorite foods, but so far this pizza is the only thing I have been able to make for him. It’s been very busy! Instead this week has become filling my belly with my favorite things! Stay tuned for more salads:D

But right now let’s focus on what filled my dad’s belly the other night! For this post, let’s refer to the blog as What’s in Ellie’s Dad’s Belly?…doesn’t have quite the same ring to it, but this recipe didn’t make it to my belly (I was way to in love with the Roasted Vegetable Pizza that I served on the same night!!).

Pizza is one of my dad’s favorite meals, so I knew I had to make him one this week. My dad and I however have very different pizza tastes! I love loading on the veggies and weird fancy stuff, whereas he loves the meats! If my dad is home for dinner, meat MUST be on the menu. It is not a meal if there is no meat:P Totally false if you ask me, but I make it work! I totally love meat, don’t get me wrong, but sometimes beans can be the protein or, if you already had some protein, a nice veggie loaded noodle dish might do the trick! …..Okay that was a lot of complaining! It really isn’t that bad and 90% of the time the recipes I want to try have meat in them!

Now let’s talk about the Pizza Supreme! It has lots of tasty ingredients!

Blog Pic #151

Fresh Mozzarella (Finally used up all of that stuff!! It was a great feeling!!)

Red Onions

Red & Orange Bell Peppers

Mushrooms (One of my favorite pizza toppings!!)

Italian Sausage (I believe it’s venison)

Garlic!!!! (don’t be shy about your garlic)

Combine all of those supremely delicious ingredients and you get Pizza Supreme!! Like I said before, I didn’t eat any of this pizza, so I can’t say much about it. All I know is that my sister and dad both enjoyed it! I mean there’s nothing weird about it, so it probably just tasted like most other sausage pizzas.

Blog Pic #152

Again, I am ashamed to admit that I bought the crust for this pizza:( If you remember, this pizza was baked the same night as that Roasted Vegetable Pizza, and there just wasn’t going to be enough time to let the dough rise. For the crust of this pizza, I chose a THICK crust! It was so big and fluffy! I figured a SUPREME Pizza needed a SUPREME crust! Because I bought the crust I di

Blog Pic #153

Okay and one last random comment before I give you this recipe!

For whatever reason today I had like a huge burst of people viewing my blog! Like 3 times more than ever before!! That’s insane! I am not going to tell you how many people visited, because if I am being honest, it’s still a very sad and small number! But hey it’s improvement and I’ll take it!! I also reached my first ever audience from CANADA! First audience outside of the United States!! This is a very big day!! I think I will celebrate with some baking tonight;) Keep coming back!! I have lots more recipes coming:)

Blog Pic #32

P.S. I think that the Pizza Supreme is the pizza featured on the front of the cookbook!!

Pizza Supreme

1 lb. prepared pizza dough at room temperature (I used store bought)

Vegetable cooking spray

2 tsp olive oil

1 (4 oz.) link sweet turkey Italian sausage, casing removed (I used about 1/2 lb. of my dad’s venison Italian sausage)

1 cup sliced fresh mushrooms

1 cup thinly sliced red bell pepper

1 cup thinly sliced orange bell pepper

1 cup thinly sliced red onion

1/4 tsp. dried crushed red pepper

3 garlic cloves, thinly sliced

3/4 cup pizza sauce

5 oz. fresh mozzarella, thinly sliced

1. Preheat the oven to 500F.

2. Roll dough into a 14-inch circle on a lightly floured surface. Place dough on a 14-inch pizza pan or baking sheet coated with cooking spray. (Or simply place store bought pizza crust on ungreased pizza pan.)

3. Heat oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add sausage to the pan; cook 2 minutes or until sausage crumbles and is no longer pink. Add mushrooms, bell peppers, onion, crushed red pepper, and garlic; saute 4 minutes stirring occasionally. Drain.

4. Spread sauce over dough, leaving a 1-inch border. Arrange cheese over sauce. Arrange sausage mixture evenly over cheese. Bake at 500F for 15 minutes or until crust and cheese are browned.

Leave a Reply

