Chick Pea Kale Salad

Do you ever have those times when all of a sudden you have everything you need to make a recipe? Like everything! The stars all decide to align and boom!! Those are magical moments! This recipe is an example of one of those magical moments! We had everything! A leftover lemon, a huge bag of kale, parsley, GARLIC, and PARMESAN (which of course I make sure is always available in the fridge).

….

But now wait a minute! I LOVE the grocery store! It is honestly one of my absolute favorite places, so why did I just refer to a time when I don’t need to go to the grocery store as a magical moment? … Oh I know! It’s because it makes my parents happier! They are pretty awesome for supporting my grocery shopping obsession, so finding recipes that don’t involve a grocery run is my treat to them!

Today’s recipe is also a treat for my belly!

Chick Pea Kale Salad! Super simple, super healthy, and super delicious!! We have lots of kale at my house right now, so I have been trying to find recipes to use it up! I think I am also going to make kale chips and a kale pasta. Kale is known for being full of nutrients, so I was excited to try it in recipes. I had never tried it before, so I had no idea what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised. The kale itself is nothing special, but it’s not disgusting and I would have no problem eating it again. It’s kind of like spinach in taste, but has a different, tougher texture.

Blog Pic #160

The main reason I enjoyed this salad was because it had PARMESAN! I of course added extra! We had the shreds this time, which I love so much!!

Blog Pic #161I also really loved the chick peas! Like black beans, I could probably eat a bowl of them.

Blog Pic #162

This recipe threw me off a little. It calls for 3-4 leaves of kale….and I don’t know how big kale leaves usually are, but I only used one. Not only did I only use one, but my picture looks like it has a lot more kale than hers. If I were to make it more like a normal lettuce salad, then maybe I would have used all 3. The pictures made it look more like a chick pea salad rather than a kale salad…if that make any sense! Make it how you want it though!

Here’s the recipe!

http://wishfulchef.com/chickpea-kale-salad/

Chickpea Kale Salad recipe

  • 1 can chickpeas, rinsed and drained
  • 3-4 leaves kale, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons fresh parsley, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped
  • 1 lemon, juiced
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • pecorino romano or parmesan cheese, grated to taste

In a bowl, combine chickpeas, kale, parsley, olive oil, garlic and lemon juice. Add salt, pepper and grated cheese to taste. Toss all ingredients together and mix well. Cover bowl and refrigerate. Best served at room temperature or chilled. Top with more grated cheese for presentation.

Leave a Reply

