Zucchini Bread

I have a major sweet tooth in the morning! It’s a problem! If there are cookies in the kitchen, you can bet that I will eat a half of a cookie with my breakfast. Never a full though because that would be crazy. Come on people, I have SOME self control! Hahaha!

So what’s been making it’s way into my belly the past couple of mornings in order to satisfy my sweet tooth??

This Zucchini Bread in it’s adorable little cupcake/muffin liners! Thanks again Terri Zustiak! They are so stinkin’ cute!

Blog Pic #158

So I made this recipe with Rose again (When she came over we made a salad, zucchini bread, and dessert)! What a great friend to put up with my crazy baking obsession!! She’s a fabulous baking buddy:) She helped a lot with this recipe, so I should give her lots of credit. She shredded all 2 cups of the zucchini and she chopped up all the nuts! What a talented lady!

My mom would also like credit! She wants me to make it very clear that she chose the recipe. This is true, but I would like to point out that I didn’t even have a chance to look at the recipes. She just immediately told me she wanted to make the one that used brown sugar, which I totally agreed with. Brown Sugar is magical! It has some molasses-y taste to it. It has a warm flavor to it that pairs nicely with spices, like the cinnamon and nutmeg (my own addition) in this recipe! It also helped the bread stay moist and soft (which may also be due to the large amount of oil! haha!!)

Blog Pic #157

Oh and my mom also wants credit for the process by which the nuts were chopped. I told Rose she could put the walnuts in a plastic bag and smash them with what I think is actually the tool used to pound meat. That’s the way I always do it. I like it. It’s fun that way. But NOOOO! My mom had to show Rose how to use the food processor. I think my mom was just super excited becayuse she herself had recently used it to chop up walnuts for her favorite dessert, cookie brittle. The food processor may have been quicker, but it also resulted in dirty dishes and less fun if you ask me (I mean who doesn’t love pounding things every once in a while?). So credit goes to my mom for the chopped walnuts, but I still hold to the fact that my way was the better option of the two. Less dishes and more fun:)

Blog Pic #159

Everyone at my house loved the muffins/bread! Honestly what’s not to like? It is pretty much dessert for breakfast! I’m not going to pretend these are healthy! I mean let’s be honest, they are full of sugar and oil! Yes they have zucchini, but that pretty much gets overtaken! This shouldn’t stop you from eating them though! They are well worth it!!

*Quick little note about baking in general! Anytime you stir in flour (except when making bread that you knead), you should always make sure not to over mix the batter. I don’t know all the technical stuff, but basically it causes the gluten to overdevelop and results in tougher baked goods. Tough cake? No thank you! So stir until JUST combined!

Zucchini Bread

3 eggs, beaten

1 1/2 cups sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

3 tsp. vanilla

1 cup cooking oil

2 cups zucchini, shredded

3 cups flour

1/4 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg (I love nutmeg, so I added this ingredient!!)

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 cup chopped nuts (we added a little extra)

Mix together eggs, sugars, vanilla, oil, and zucchini. Sift flour, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and baking soda. Mix dry into wet ingredients until just incorporated. (Don’t over develop the gluten). Add nuts. Pour into 2 loaf pans. Bake 1 hour.

One thought on “Zucchini Bread

Leave a Reply

