Strawberry, Quinoa, Spinach & Cashew Salad

It has been way too long since I have posted a salad recipe! I have been eating them almost every single day for the past couple of weeks! They are not always as fancy as this one, for example, the other night I made myself a giant bowl of spinach, tomato, and parmesan. Then I covered it with this amazing salad dressing I was introduced to while in Alabama called Sun Dried Tomato Dressing. My aunt was making salads and sandwiches with it, and I fell in love. It took me a while to find it at a grocery store…not sure why exactly because it’s a Kraft dressing, but either way I couldn’t find it at our Cub. I ended up finding it at my grandparent’s grocery store. Well anyway, as I was saying, sometimes the salads are not fancy or from a recipe, but they are always delicious. We tend to have a giant stock of salad ingredients at all times. Right now we have an array of dried fruit, fresh fruit, lunch meats, croutons and other crunchy toppings, nuts, and dressings. It allows me to be creative, and I love that!

Today’s recipe is not one of my own creation:( I wish I was capable of making something so delicious, but I have a long ways to go before I can whip something like this incredible out of my brain! (A little side note. I had a delicious salad when we went out to eat, and I have plans to recreate that salad for you!!)

So what salad is in Ellie’s belly?

Strawberry, Quinoa, Spinach, & Cashew Salad. A texture lovers dream salad. It has so may different elements and I loved every single one:)

Blog Pic #165

Spinach galore, quinoa, juicy peaches, green onions, tart strawberries, crisp red peppers, and crunchy and crunchy cashews!! Not a single thing I don’t love! It has a honey balsamic vinaigrette that takes it over the top!! I wanted the dressing to be in the picture, but I didn’t have a nice container to put it in:( Later that night my friend and I went to Hobby Lobby and I fixed that little problem:) I made my first investment in my blog and purchased a cute little dressing container! I am sure I’ll be making another salad soon, then I can use that dressing container and show you all!

Blog Pic #167

I made this with my friend Emily for dinner the other night, and we both loved it! My sister and mom both enjoyed it too! I even took it to work the next day and had another gourmet meal with Lunchable eating children!! You can pile it high with so many ingredients! I especially loved putting on lots and lots of peaches and strawberries because I am a huge fruit fan!!

Blog Pic #166Trust me, you absolutely, positively need this salad in your life! Run to the grocery store right now and pick up everything you need! I think I am running to the grocery store today with my mom!! I am so excited, I hope she is too! I have already made up the grocery list, so I am ready to go:) We have lots of family coming to visit this week, so I get to do lots of cooking and baking!! I am still behind on posts, so I will be really behind after this week.

Want a recipe number update? Remember that my goal is 100 NEW recipes before going back to college! I am currently at 69 recipes! Well, 69 recipes posted on the blog (71 recipes total!) I’ve been doing some thinking and for my next goal I think I might do something like baking/cooking my way through an entire cookbook? That would be lots of fun! Another possibility is maybe this year at college I can try to make like 50 recipes from my slow cooker cookbook. I got the cookbook as a present from my little cousin Leo for Christmas, and I absolutely love it. All the recipes only have 5 ingredients or less, so it is perfect for college because it’s nice and cheap! You know what? I actually really like that idea! I am definitely going to do that! Maybe my goal will be to average 1 recipe per week!! This past year, I ate the same exact thing everyday for dinner from the cafeteria, so this would be a great way to switch things up. We made a couple recipes from that cookbook this year and they were all very yummy, so why not make some more this year. Okay so that’s enough about that! You all probably don’t care that much. You are here for the recipe of one delicious and fruity salad!!

http://juliasalbum.com/2014/07/strawberry-quinoa-spinach-cashew-salad/

Strawberry, Quinoa, Spinach & Cashew salad
Ingredients
Dressing:
    • 1/4 cup olive oil
    • 3 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
    • 2 tablespoons honey
    • 1/2 teaspoons garlic powder
    • 1/2 teaspoon mustard powder
    • 1 teaspoon onion powder
    • salt and pepper
Salad:
  • one package (10 oz) fresh spinach, chopped (about 10 cups of torn leaves)
  • 4 cups sliced fresh strawberries (cleaned and hulled)
  • 1 and 1/2 cup cooked quinoa
  • 1 cup peaches, finely chopped
  • 4 green onions, chopped
  • 1 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/3 cup cashews

Instructions

  1. In a medium bowl, combine the dressing ingredients, and whisk together well. Add salt and pepper to taste. You can serve the dressing immediately or you can cover it and chill for an hour.
  2. In a large bowl, combine all of the salad ingredients, except the cashew nuts. Add the dressing to the salad and toss. Sprinkle cashew nuts on top of the salad.
Leave a Reply

