Cashew Butterscotch Pudding Cookies

This recipe has been sitting in my recipe box for what feels like forever!! I was waiting for a reason to buy cashews because they are rather expensive and I, for whatever reason, couldn’t buy them for just this recipe. I needed at least two reasons to buy the cashews in order to justify it. When we decided to make ice cream at my grandparents house, I knew I could finally buy those cashews! I had also been waiting to make that White Chocolate Pretzel Caramel Cashew Ice Cream. Remember that recipe? If not, go back to it!! It’s a ridiculously rich and delicious ice cream that you need to make this summer:) So I finally had the cashews! I hid them as soon as I had finished the ice cream because my family, except my mom, loves cashews! So I hid them, and then waited for the opportunity to arise to make these cookies. So I waited, and waited, and waited. Finally I made a salad with them, and then I decided I couldn’t wait any longer!

When I finally made them, my belly was extremely pleased! Devouring those cookies made me wonder why it had taken me so long to make them! I mean they have two of my favorite things: Butterscotch and Cashews!

Cashews are one of my favorite nuts!! I love all nuts as I am sure I have told you! They’re texture for goodness sake! Pecans in my carrot cake, walnuts in my brownies, almonds in my berry salads, pile them on please! Jars of mixed nuts are dangerous to have around! My grandparents have a giant container of honey roasted mixed nuts! They are beyond incredible. Before then, I had only ever had honey roasted peanuts! Believe me, all nuts should be honey roasted!!!:)

Blog Pic #168

Butterscotch chips are the one of the best thing ever! (I tend to say that a lot…I just love food period!!). I have fabulous memories of sneaking a couple butterscotch chips from the baking cupboard when I was younger…okay, so maybe it was more like handfuls! Anything with butterscotch in it is going to be good. Remember that Butterscotch Banana Bread? Remember how that butterscotch caramelized? Yes butterscotch is incredible and should be enjoyed often! To make the butterscotch flavor even stronger, this recipe also calls for butterscotch pudding. I really dislike pudding with a passion, but in cookie dough it does wonders. Every time I make cookies with a pudding mix in them, they turn out incredibly chewy, soft and delectable!!

Blog Pic #171

Like those Cookie Butter Brown Sugar Streusel Bars, these cookies did not last long at all. Gone in less than two days. Before you start judging, you should know that these were shared with many. My parents, younger sister, and some of her friends went to my grandparents house to get on the river, so they took the cookies to share. That means that 8 different people were able to eat these yummy cookies! They brought zero cookies home! Everyone adored them except my mom….who isn’t a fan of butterscotch or cashews…I  don’t understand her!!

Blog Pic #170

The only thing I did differently from the recipe is the amounts on butterscotch chips and cashews I mixed into the batter. Whenever I make cookies, I always add less than what the recipe suggests. For two reasons!

1. I like to make the cookies pretty by adding some of the butterscotch chips and cashews to the tops of the cookies. I want them to not just taste good, but I want them to look good. You eat with your eyes first! Hahaha! I feel like there is a saying like that? Maybe not, but I am going to say it anyway. Appearance can make a huge difference!

2. I also add less because I just don’t like so many add-ins. When I eat a chocolate chip cookie, I don’t want to only taste chocolate. I actually tend to like the dough better than the chocolate. Recipes, in my opinion, always call for too much extra add-ins!

Blog Pic #169

So this cookie recipe kind of blew my mind! I think it had the easiest clean-up EVER! I literally only had to wash the beaters from the mixer, the bowl, the measuring cups, the cookie scoop, the spatula, and the baking sheets. Okay, so after writing that it kind of looks like a lot of dishes still. I guess the only thing that really blew my mind was the fact that I didn’t need to dirty a spatula!! The bowl literally cleaned itself as I scooped out the cookie dough! I didn’t need to scrape out the bowl like I usually do, and it felt amazing! I got every last piece of cookie dough without having to work for it:) what a happy moment that was!

The ease of this recipe inspired me to create my own cookie recipe based off of this one! I mean, there are lots of different pudding mixes out there! Why not try some different kinds in cookies!?! I am hopefully going to make it this weekend, so it should be making its way to the blog next week! I don’t want to give anything away. Plus I want to leave something to talk about when I actually post the recipe! As of now, I only have one recipe completely thought through, but I have tons of ideas swimming around in my brain!!

Until then, here’s the recipe for this version!

http://www.crazyforcrust.com/2014/05/cashew-butterscotch-pudding-cookies/

CASHEW BUTTERSCOTCH PUDDING COOKIES

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 1 box (3.4 ounces) Instant Butterscotch Pudding Mix (not sugar-free)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/3 cups Butterscotch chips, divided
  • 1/2 cup chopped cashews or peanuts

DIRECTIONS:

  1. **This recipe requires chilling, so prepare for that.**
  2. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment (or using a hand mixer), cream melted butter and sugar. Mix in vanilla and egg until smooth. Mix in pudding mix (just the powdery mix, not actual pudding). Mix in salt, baking soda, and then flour, mixing until well blended. Let the dough sit for 5 minutes, then stir in 1 cup of butterscotch chips and nuts.
  3. Drop cookie dough balls (I used a 2 tablespoon cookie scoop) onto 2 cookie sheets that have been lined with silpat baking mats or parchment paper. Press a few of the remaining butterscotch chips onto the top each cookie. (You can do the same with extra cashews if you wish.) The pressing on top just makes them prettier, but is not necessary. Slightly press the balls down with the palm of your hand – very gently. Chill for at least 30 minutes.
  4. Preheat oven to 350°F. Bake for 11-14 minutes, until the edges lose their sheen. I like them a little under done at about 11-12 minutes, but if you like your cookies more done, cook them a few minutes longer.
Leave a Reply

