Homemade Oatmeal Creme Pie Cupcakes

Store bought dessert is not my thing. In fact I have actually come to despise it!! Don’t you dare buy a dessert, when I am fully capable of making an even better one from scratch! I love making copy-cat versions of store bought desserts though! Like those Little Debbie Brownies that are way better than the original. Recently I went on a picnic with my friend Rose and she brought her own copy-cat version of another Little Debbie dessert. She brought Oatmeal Creme Pies. I have never in my life had an oatmeal creme pie, and at this point I don’t intend on ever having one for two reasons. Hers were DELICIOUS and “why on earth would I buy dessert?”. We just went over this!! I am a bit of a food snob, but I am okay with that!!

So moving on. It was her wonderful, gooey and messy GIANT Oatmeal Creme Pie Copy-Cats that caused the making of these cupcakes.

So today my belly has been filled with a wonderfully light and and airy spiced cupcake with a swirl of beautiful frosting!

Blog Pic #174

Yes, these are Oatmeal Creme Pies in cupcake form!! Despite what my friend Rose believes, I did not make these cupcakes to show her up. I simply thought her cookies were delicious and wanted to make something else with those same flavors. And as you all know very well, I couldn’t just make her recipe, I had to find a new one! I was not seeking to out do her, only to recreate that same magical taste she had introduced me to.

Okay so right away I need to explain to you how unusual these cupcakes are! Not in a bad way though, don’t worry! They are so odd because they have a texture unlike any other cupcake I have ever had IN MY ENTIRE LIFE!! They are seriously the lightest cupcakes I have ever made or tasted! Cake is supposed to be fluffy and not dense, but these cupcakes take that to the extreme. They are so light because the recipe calls for egg whites to be beaten into stiff peaks and then folded into the batter. Rose did an excellent job of this, and you can tell there are egg whites in this recipe! I honestly can’t even describe how light they are.

In the oven, these cupcakes overflowed out of their little compartments. I was not expecting that because it never has happened before, so I did not grease the top of the pan. Unfortunately this meant that the cupcake edges got a little stuck on the top of the pan:( I was so bummed and was ready to give up (clearly it had been a long day because in reality it was really not that big of a deal). With Rose’s encouragement though I managed to remove each cupcake with minimal damage! But the point I was trying to make was that when I used a knife to take out the first cupcake, I squished the side pretty badly:( Needless to say, that cupcake was not photographed. These cupcakes are oh so delicate, so be very careful with these babies!

Blog Pic #175

Now let’s talk about the frosting! Rose and I loved it! We each licked a beater sparkling clean!! My mom, the weirdo who doesn’t like butterscotch or cashews, did not like the frosting…But I have been thinking, can we really trust her judgement?! The oddest part is that this frosting is really not that different from other frosting recipes…I mean there’s butter and there’s sugar…what could possibly be wrong?? She seriously ate just the bottom of the cupcake, leaving the top part with all the frosting.

Blog Pic #176

Do you see those cute-as-can-be cupcake liners?? Recognize them from the zucchini muffins? I keep using them because they are just too adorable! I still have a couple more, so I will be making more desserts in them!!

Blog Pic #173

So my family is a little unusual, myself included! We’re not cake people. I am the biggest cake eater of the bunch, but even I don’t eat a ton of cake. I get a craving for it every once in a while, especially during grad party season, but after having a piece and satisfying my craving, I am all good. Because of this, I never make cake at my house. If I did, we would have a whole bunch of cake sitting around because after everyone had their one piece, we would all be satisfied. I do love MAKING cake though! So any excuse I have to make cake for someone else, I take very happily! I especially love making layered cakes! They are also my favorite ones to eat because I love taking a fork and forking through all the different layers:) It’s the simple things in life!!

These cupcakes are really yummy and unique, and I am definitely glad I made them:) I don’t know how much they taste like the actual oatmeal creme pies because I have never had one, but they tasted good, so isn’t that all that matters? The only thing that threw me off a little was the fact that there was zero oats in the cupcakes… I don’t know why they did that. Maybe it had something to do with keeping the cupcakes light. Maybe the oats would have weighed them down, and they didn’t want that? I am not sure! So they are just super light and delicate spiced cakes with a delicious frosting!

Blog Pic #172So here’s the link to the recipe!!

http://www.layersofhappiness.com/oatmeal-creme-pie-cupcakes/

Homemade Oatmeal Creme Pie Cupcakes.
Ingredients
For the cupcakes:
  • 1 cups brown sugar
  • ¼ cup (1/2 stick) butter, softened
  • ¼ cup vegetable oil
  • 2 large eggs, separated
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 cups flour
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • ¼ teaspoon fresh grated nutmeg
  • ⅛ teaspoon ground cloves
  • ⅛ teaspoon ground allspice
  • Pinch of salt
  • ½ cup buttermilk
For the creme frosting:
  • ¾ cup (1.5 sticks) unsalted butter, softened to room temperature
  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  • 3 tablespoons heavy cream (using anything with less fat will result in a much less creamy consistency)
  • 1½ teaspoons vanilla extract
  • pinch of salt, as needed
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 350F degrees. Line muffin tin with 12 cupcake liners. Set aside.
To make cupcakes:
  1. With the electric mixer, in large mixing bowl, beat the egg whites until stiff peaks form. Set aside
  2. In another large mixing bowl fitted with the whisk attachment, cream the brown sugar and butter. With the mixer running, slowly add the oil. Add the egg yolks, mix until completely combined.
  3. Sift the flour, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, allspice and salt into a medium-size mixing bowl. Add the flour mixture and the buttermilk to the butter sugar mixture, and mix until fully combined. Fold in the egg whites into the cake batter.
  4. Divide batter among 12 cupcake liners and bake for up to 20-22 minutes minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Allow to cool before frosting.
For the frosting:
  1. With a stand or handheld mixer, beat butter for about 2-3 minutes until creamy. Add the powdered sugar and mix on until just combined. Pour in heavy cream and vanilla extract. Mix until just combined. Taste and add a pinch or two of salt, as needed. If filling is too thick, add a couple more teaspoons of heavy cream. Frost cooled cupcakes and serve immediately or store in an airtight container for up to 3 days or 5 days in the refrigerator.
2 thoughts on “Homemade Oatmeal Creme Pie Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

