Sunny Quinoa Salad

The stars have aligned again! Going through cookbooks the other day, I realized that I had everything I needed to make this salad! This was an especially exciting occurrence because we have not gone grocery shopping in FOREVER:'( Our food supply is rather low, especially our fruit supply. I actually ran to the grocery store last night so that I could pick up an apple, a pear and yogurts in order to get me through! I am not exaggerating when I say I NEED fruit every morning, and even more than that, I need it with every meal! Regardless of the fact that we have few ingredients in the house, we did have everything for this salad. It called for a bunch of ingredients that I had left over from other recipes!

So I threw all the ingredients together and threw it all into my belly!

Blog Pic #180The quinoa is from that Lemon, Sun-Dried Tomato, and Almond Quinoa Salad.

The parsley is from the Chick Pea Kale Salad.

The green onions are from the Strawberry, Quinoa, Spinach, and Cashew Salad.

The cucumber came from our garden.

Finally, the golden raisins were from a trail mix we made. We have never bought golden raisins for our trail mix, but I wanted to switch things up, and it lined up perfectly with this salad!

Blog Pic #179

Thus salad, like all of my favorite foods has lots going on! It has a bazillion different textures, which make it that much more enjoyable to eat! This salad, however, was not amazing in my opinion. It was good, don’t get me wrong, but it didn’t blow my socks off or anything. I actually think it could use a little something, but I am not entirely sure what! I’ve been playing around with the idea of sprinkling it with some sunflower seeds or soy nuts. That way you add a little crunch and a little salt! My mom tried it with soy nuts and she said that helped a lot!

Blog Pic #177

So it’s not a favorite, but it was still pretty good! I don’t think we’ll make it again, but we ate it all up!

The recipe comes from one of my favorite cookbook publishers! Gooseberry Patch! This particular recipe comes from their “101 Soups, Salads, and Sandwiches” cookbook! I have made tons of recipes from their cookbooks and I totally recommend them!

I changed the recipe a little, so here’s my version! Basically all I did was change how the quinoa was prepared and how much was prepared!

Blog Pic #178

Sunny Quinoa Salad

1/2 cup quinoa, uncooked

1 cup chicken broth

2 green onions, thinly sliced

1/4 cup golden raisins

1 T rice vinegar

1/4 cup orange juice

1/2 tsp orange zest

1 T olive oil

1/8 tsp ground cumin

1 cucumber, chopped

salt and pepper to taste

soy nuts or sunflower seed (optional for an added crunch)

Bring chicken broth to a boil. Add quinoa; return to a boil. Cover and simmer until quinoa has fully cooked, about 20 minutes. Remove from heat; fluff with fork. In large bowl, combine quinoa and remaining ingredients; mix well. Cover and chill before serving.

Sunny Quinoa Salad

Leave a Reply

