Salted Vanilla Toffee Cookies

Today is the day my cousins are coming in from Illinois!! I am beyond excited to see them!! It is going to get CRAZY! I am making dinner for them twice and making two breakfasts, so will have lots of new recipes to make. One of the best parts of their visit will be our trip to Nelson’s Ice Cream! My 3rd stop of the year!! I have no idea what flavors I am going to get, but I know I am going to split with someone because it is just so insane the amount of ice cream they give you! I have been telling my little cousin Leo about this place for a while, so I am so happy that I will finally have the chance to take him!

You know what else I finally had the chance to do?? Make these cookies! We have had the leftover toffee bits in the cupboard for such a long time (leftover from the Malted Vanilla Ice Cream)/ I’ve just been waiting for the excuse to make cookies, so when family came into town this weekend, I knew it was the perfect time!

So Salted Vanilla Toffee Cookies went into my belly!!

These cookies are so crazy soft! So chewy and fully of toffee flavor! They spread like crazy in the oven, so make sure to chill the dough! I chilled them, and they still spread a lot. They stayed nice and soft though. I think that was a result of all the brown sugar in the recipe, which makes cookies nice and chewy! It also adds a nice flavor to the cookies, that white sugar can’t. You know what else gave them lots of flavor? Vanilla Bean! I used vanilla bean paste that I got from Michaels with a coupon because buying actual vanilla beans is extremely expensive! It is one of my favorite flavorings!

To make the flavors of these cookies pop even more, you sprinkle these cookies with sea salt. Salt is a HUGE flavor enhancer, and I loved the bites where I could really taste the salt. Sweet and salty is a beautiful thing! Have you ever had the Nature Valley Sweet & Salty granola bars? The cashew and almond ones are my favorite granola bars in the world!!

Blog Pic #187Everyone who tried these cookies absolutely loved them! I had no complaints. I don’t get many though. It make me wonder sometimes if the recipes are actually good, or if people are just really nice. I hope they are honest because I want to know if they actually like them. It does me no good to get complemented all the time and never critiqued. I brought some to the kids I nanny and they fell in love!  The family that visited this weekend also enjoyed these cookies! So many of them were eaten in such a short time. I don’t think that there are any left! Another successful recipe!

Blog Pic #188

The recipe comes from sallysbakingaddiction.com

http://sallysbakingaddiction.com/2015/06/12/salted-vanilla-toffee-cookies/

Salted Vanilla Toffee Cookies

yield: 2 AND 1/2 DOZEN

prep time: 3 HOURS, 35 MINUTES

total time: 4 HOURS

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup (230g) unsalted butter, softened to room temperature
  • 1/2 cup (100g) granulated sugar
  • 1 cup (200g) packed light brown sugar (or dark brown)
  • 2 large eggs, room temperature preferred
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • seeds scraped from 1/2 of a vanilla bean
  • 2 and 1/2 cups (312g) all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon cornstarch
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 and 1/2 cups Heath English Toffee Bits ‘O Brickle
  • sea salt, for sprinkling

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl using a hand-held mixer or stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, beat the butter for 1 minute on medium speed until completely smooth and creamy. Add the granulated sugar and brown sugar and beat on medium high speed until fluffy and light in color. Beat in eggs, vanilla, and vanilla bean seeds on high speed. Scrape down the sides and bottom of the bowl as needed.
  2. In a separate bowl, whisk the flour, cornstarch, baking soda and salt together until combined. On low speed, slowly mix into the wet ingredients until combined. The cookie dough will be quite thick. Add the toffee bits, mix on low for about 5-10 seconds until evenly disbursed. Cover dough tightly with aluminum foil or plastic wrap and chill for at least 3 hours and up to 3 days. Chilling is mandatory for this cookie dough.
  3. Remove cookie dough from the refrigerator and allow to sit at room temperature for 20 minutes– if the cookie dough chilled longer than 3 hours, let it sit at room temperature for about 30 minutes. This makes the cookie dough easier to scoop and roll.
  4. Preheat oven to 350°F (177°C). Line two large baking sheets with parchment paper or silicone baking mats. Set aside.
  5. Once chilled, the dough might be slightly crumbly, but will come together if you work the dough with your hands as you roll into individual balls. Scoop and roll balls of dough, about 1 Tablespoon of dough each, into balls. Sprinkle with sea salt.
  6. Bake the cookies for 10 minutes (11 minutes for crispier cookies), until slightly golden brown around the edges. My oven has hot spots and yours may too- so be sure to rotate the pan once during bake time. The baked cookies will look extremely soft in the centers when you remove them from the oven. Allow to cool for 5 minutes on the cookie sheet. If the cookies are too puffy, try gently pressing down on them with the back of a spoon. They will slightly deflate as you let them cool. Transfer to cooling rack to cool completely. Sprinkle with additional sea salt if desired.
  7. Make ahead tip: Cookies stay fresh covered at room temperature for up to 1 week. Baked cookies freeze well – up to three months. Unbaked cookie dough balls freeze well – up to three months. Bake frozen cookie dough balls for an extra minute, no need to thaw.
Leave a Reply

