Root Beer Pulled Pork & Granny Green’s Slaw

So as it turns out, I do like pulled pork. All this time I believed that I didn’t like it, so I haven’t been eating it! I am a little upset with myself, but not TOO upset because I don’t LOVE it! I just don’t dislike it like I thought I did. Family was visiting from Illinois, so of course a big meal was in order!

So my belly was very full of the delicious meal pictured below! The new recipes shown are the Root Beer Pulled Pork and the Granny Green’s Slaw!

Blog Pic #194It was such a classic summer meal! Pulled pork, coleslaw, chips, fresh fruit, and homemade pickles! My dad had mentioned that I should make coleslaw last week, so I went searching for a meal that would go well with coleslaw. And so I give you, Root Beer Pulled Pork!

The pulled pork was perfect for our busy schedules! I had to work the day we had this meal, so I knew I wouldn’t have a whole lot of time in the kitchen to prepare for the dinner. What better way to save time than to make your meal in a crock pot!? Before I went to work, my mom helped me prepare the meat for the crock pot. She did the dirty work (thanks mom!!). She cut off the fat and rubbed the meat with its seasonings! I did all the strenuous jobs though! I stirred together the root beer and barbecue sauce. Then on top of that I poured it on the meat (which may have been already in the crock pot thanks to my mom). To top it all off I had to switch the dial from off to low! So as you can imagine, after all of that, I took a nap!

Quick side note…Is anybody else super picky about their root beer? I like A&W or root beer that tastes like A&W. That Barg’s stuff is gross, as is root beer flavored candy:P So of course I used A&W in this recipe, although I don’t think it would really make a difference because you can’t taste the root beer after the pork is done cooking!

So while in reality I did very little to help in the prepping of the pork, I actually did do a lot in the final stages of this pulled pork preparation! I, myself, shredded the meat, drained the liquids, and stirred in the barbecue sauce! I must admit though, that I got advice from my aunt. You see, I have never made pulled pork before, so I didn’t really know what I was doing. I just needed to know if it all looked right and if there was enough sauce! Well I must have done a a pretty decent job because everyone enjoyed it! This recipe is another keeper!

Blog Pic #195

So enough about the meat, let’s talk about the coleslaw. The recipe comes from that Retro Barbecue Cookbook I have been using all summer. I cheated a little and bought the cabbage pre-shredded, but other than that I followed the recipe. I am not a big coleslaw person because mayo covered stuff isn’t really my thing, but everyone else enjoyed it. I don’t think it was anything super special, but it must have been pretty good because there wasn’t much left after dinner!

Those other sides I had are also essential, if you want this to feel like a perfect summer meal. The sweet pickles are homemade and are my grandma’s recipe. The kettle cooked chips are wonderful, and not just any chips will do. Kettle cooked are absolutely necessary! They have so much more crunch! The fruit is, as always, essential with every meal, and what better fruit for a summer meal than watermelon!

So here are the recipes for today! the Root Beer Pulled Pork came from my grandparent’s town’s newspaper column, and Granny Green’s Slaw came from the Retro Barbecue Cookbook.

Root Beer Pulled Pork 

1 (5-6lb) bone in pork (we used a 4.5 lbs and our did not have a bone!)

1 envelope dry onion soup mix

Salt & pepper

1 can root beer

2 cups barbecue sauce, divided

Buns

Trim roast of excess fat. Place roast on work surface and rub with onion soup mix, rubbing all around and reaching all sides. Sprinkle generously with salt and pepper. Place seasoned roast in slow cooker.

In a medium bowl whisk together the root beer and 1/2 cup barbecue sauce. Pour over the roast in the slow cooker.

Place lid on the slow cooker and cook on LOW heat for 10-11 hours, or until internal heat is above 190F and meat is tender. Remove roast to a cutting board and let cool for just a few minutes. Pour all but 3/4 cup of the juices from the slow cooker. Use two forks to shred the pork, discarding any fatty pieces. Place all of the pulled pork back in the slow cooker. Add remaining barbecue sauce. Stir to combine and place the lid back on. Heat on HIGH for about 15-20 minutes, just until pork and juices are hot and bubbly. Scoop pulled pork onto buns and serve immediately.

Granny Green’s Slaw

3/4 cup mayo

3 T sugar

2 T apple cider vinegar

1 tsp dry mustard

dash of celery salt

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp black pepper

8 cups shredded cabbage

1/2 cup sweet onion

1/2 cup shredded carrots

1/4 cup finely chopped celery

1. In a bowl, mix together the mayo, sugar, vinegar, mustard, celery salt, salt and pepper.

2. In a large bowl, toss together the cabbage, carrots, and celery.

3. Pour dressing mixture over the vegetables and toss. This is best refrigerated a couple of hours or overnight.

One thought on “Root Beer Pulled Pork & Granny Green’s Slaw

Leave a Reply

