Strawberry Crunch Spinach Salad

It’s time for another salad my friends! It has been far too long, so let’s load up on texture loaded deliciousness! I wish my belly could be filled with a salad this good every single day! But since it isn’t always possible, I made sure I got my fill of this salad the other night!

This is my kind of salad because it is bursting with textures and flavors! It’s crunchy from the toasted almonds and ramen, creamy from the goat cheese, and juicy from the strawberries! I was in paradise as I ate this salad! Each bite was different and special and even more wonderful than the one before!

I loved every little ingredient in this salad, but I especially adored the toasted ramen! I don’t know what it is about ramen noodles, because it’s not like they’re really flavored with anything, but they are so dang good! When I  made ramen when I was younger, I would break off pieces of the noddles and eat them raw as I waited for the water to boil!

Blog Pic #205

I recently had goat cheese on my salad in Missouri, and I absolutely loved that salad. I liked the goat cheese then, but this salad took it from like to love!! I didn’t truly appreciate it’s creamy richness the first time I had it, but I definitely did in this salad. Now, goat cheese is not for everyone, for example, my mom. She was not a huge fan. If you are like my mom, you have a couple options.

1) replace it with feta cheese

2) replace it with your favorite cheese

3) leave off the cheese altogether

Another reason to love salads is for their ability to be altered to suit your tastes.

Blog Pic #206

So now I am going to talk to you about stuff that’s exciting for me, but has no effect on you! My first investment in my blog!! I actually made a purchase! This dressing container! It was only like $1, but it was a purchase! Isn’t the dressing pretty? The blog I got the recipe from took a picture like this, so of course I had to give it a try!

Blog Pic #202

That picture shows the whole bottle, but this one shows the layers of honey, vinegar, and olive oil better! I should also mention that I loved this vinaigrette, I thought it went really well with the goat cheese!

Blog Pic #203

So not only did I make a purchase for my blog, but my super awesome Aunt Pam also made a purchase for me! We went shopping the other day, and she bought me some colorful plates at an antique store! It was so nice of her to do that, and I have already used the plates for 3 different recipes, so expect to see lots of her plates in my pictures!

Blog Pic #204See? It’s such a pretty pink plate! My favorite color:)

I have boat loads of salad recipes just waiting to be made and put in my belly, so make this one soon so you are ready for the next one!!

http://www.cookingclassy.com/2015/07/strawberry-crunch-spinach-salad/

Strawberry Crunch Spinach Salad
 Salad
    • 1/2 cup sliced almonds
    • 2 (3 oz) packages ramen (seasoning discarded)
    • 10 oz baby spinach
    • 1 lb fresh strawberries, hulled and sliced
    • 3/4 cup sliced green onions, green portion only
    • 4 oz goat cheese, crumbled
Honey-Red Wine Vinaigrette
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1/3 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 1 tsp dijon mustard
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/8 tsp salt

Directions

  • For the dressing:
  • Combine all dressing ingredients in a mason jar. Seal with lid then shake to blend well. Chill and allow flavors to meld while preparing salad.
  • For the salad:
  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Spread almonds onto one side of a rimmed baking sheet then break ramen into small pieces onto opposite side of baking sheet. Toast in preheated oven until almonds are golden brown, about 5 – 9 minutes, tossing once halfway through (if the almonds start toasting faster then the ramen just pour the almonds into a bowl and continue to toast the ramen until its just lightly golden). Let cool.
  • In a salad bowl gently toss together spinach, strawberries, green onions, almonds, and ramen. Add goat cheese and give it another light toss. Pour dressing over top and serve immediately after adding dressing (or plate and add dressing to individual portions).
Leave a Reply

