Caramel Snickers 7 Layer Bars

What better way to follow up a crisp, light, and refreshing salad than with a chewy, dense, and cavity-causing dessert? Holy buckets you guys!! This bar is insane! The layers just kept going! I couldn’t believe how much stuff went on these bars! I just kept piling chocolate on top of caramel on top of peanuts!

Shall we walk through the seven layers in my belly?

Blog Pic #207

Layer 1: The graham cracker crust! Plain and simple, but the perfect base for the more intense things to come! The recipe says that about 6 graham cracker sheets will make 1 cup of crumbs, but I found that I needed the entire package. If I was you, I would start with 6 in case there was something weird about my graham crackers, but be ready to add more.

Layer 2: The milk chocolate chips! We hardly ever have milk chocolate chips in my house because we are always using semi-sweet in our baking, so I had to go out and buy these. I am much more of a semi-sweet kind of girl because milk chocolate is definitely sweeter, and I like my chocolate more on the dark side when I am eating it plain…but I do love Hershey bars. Anyways…these bars have milk chocolate which makes the bars even sweeter! Go big or go home!!

Layer 3: The peanut butter chips! They so don’t taste like peanut butter in my opinion, but they sure do taste good, so I will happily layer them into the bars!

Layer 4: The Snickers of course!! Because you can’t have a Caramel Snickers 7 Layer Bar without throwing in some Snickers!

Layer 5: The Caramels are necessary as well in a Caramel Snicker’s 7 Layer Bar! Those caramels are so dang good! I don’t even understand why, but they are so addicting!

Layer 6: The peanuts! Because a little crunchy is absolutely necessary with all those creamy and chewy ingredients!

Layer 7: And finally the glue that holds all the crazy deliciousness together, the sweetened condensed milk!

Blog Pic #210

Throw those all into a pan layer by layer and PRESTO!! You have ooey-gooey deliciousness that you can’t stop eating. Especially when little pieces keep breaking off as you cut them into bite sized bars;) Yes I had some for breakfast! Don’t judge me!!

Blog Pic #208

I brought these bars to my grandparent’s house for the big salmon grilling! It’s the night before the big 60th Anniversary Party, so EVERYONE is here! So much family in such a small place! I love it though:) I was in charge of desserts tonight, and I was super excited! I made two different bars. This is the chocolate one, and I also made a fruity one to balance it out (that recipe will be coming soon!!)! All of my bars were eaten! and really quickly!! There are a whole lot of people here, so I probably could have made more but then you risk having leftovers, which I don’t like. I would much rather have them all be eaten so I can make some more!! But that’s kind of selfish! I should worry more about making sure there’s plenty rather than making sure there won’t be leftovers! My lack of extra bars may have left someone without the pleasure of tasting one of these bars, and what a sad thing that would be!!:(

Blog Pic #209

Everyone loved them! Some people compared them to candy bars because they were so rich!

As I brought the dessert around, it was fun to see people grab my bars because they had heard from someone else that they were good!! I’d say I chose the right type of dessert for this family! It was unique and different enough for me, while still being a classic/traditional recipe everyone knows and loves!

Blog PIc #211

So here my dear friends is the recipe for the bars!

http://sallysbakingaddiction.com/2013/01/05/caramel-snickers-7-layer-bars/

Caramel Snickers 7 Layer Bars

yield: 16 SQUARES

prep time: 10 MINUTES

total time: 45 MINUTES, PLUS COOLING

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup graham cracker crumbs (about 6 full graham crackers ground up)
  • 1/4 cup (60g) salted butter, melted (or unsalted)
  • 1/2 cup (90g) milk chocolate chips
  • 1 cup (180g) peanut butter chips
  • 2 full size Snickers Bars (58g each)
  • 10 unwrapped Kraft caramels, chopped
  • 3/4 cup (95g)vdry-roasted peanuts
  • 8 oz sweetened condensed milk (a little more than half of a standard 14 oz can)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350F. Line 8-inch or 9-inch square baking pan with parchment paper or aluminum foil. Spray generously with non-stick spray. Set aside.

Stir together graham cracker crumbs and melted butter. Mixture will be relatively crumbly. Press onto the bottom of the prepared dish and slightly up the sides.

Layer chocolate chips and next 4 ingredients (in that order) into prepared baking pan. Drizzle with sweetened condensed milk.

Bake for 35-38 minutes or until center is set. Allow to cool completely and lift the bars out of the pan using the edges of the parchment paper. Bars stay fresh at room temperature in a covered container for up to 10 days.

PRINT RECIPE

One thought on “Caramel Snickers 7 Layer Bars

Leave a Reply

