Lemon Poppy Seed Banana Bread

I just got back from a speedy little vacation at my grandparent’s house! It went by way too fast, as it always does. Everyone was there for my grandparent’s 60th wedding anniversary! 60 YEARS! That’s crazy and definitely something to celebrate! My grandparent’s had 9 children and all of them were able to come with their families!! They live all over. Some came from Alabama, others from Illinois, and still more from California and New York! We haven’t all been together in such a long time, so lots of photos were taken:) Having everyone together means obviously means not everyone fits in their little house, although that little house can fit a lot more than you think. Well, because not everyone fit there, lots of people slept in different houses and at different hotels. I spent both nights at my aunts house, who lives just a couple blocks away! So of course because I am a baker, I knew I had to bring some breakfast to share with everyone sleeping there. That’s were today’s recipe fit in!

Blog Pic #212

So this morning and the morning before, I filled my belly with Lemon Poppy Seed Banana Bread! The first morning there especially. I think I probably ate a little more than half of a mini loaf all by myself! Oops! That’s okay! Everyone else enjoyed cinnamon rolls and donuts! Everyone had a bit of my bread the next morning, so I didn’t get to hog it too much!

Blog Pic #213

This bread was really tasty in my opinion. It was a little bit chewier than the muffins I made a couple of weeks ago, but I didn’t mind one bit and nobody else seemed to notice! You can’t really taste the banana, which is totally fine because I don’t know if lemon and banana really go together anyway. The banana works more to just keep the bread moist and soft! I am still debating whether I like this recipe more or less than the muffins I made…I think I may like this one better, but I just don’t know! What I really need to do is make a recipe with a nice sugary crust!! That one would be my favorite for sure!!

Blog Pic #214

The recipe is from http://www.somethingswanky.com/lemon-poppyseed-banana-bread/

Lemon Poppyseed Banana Bread

Ingredients

  • 2/3 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 overripe medium bananas, mashed
  • 6 tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tbsp poppyseeds
  • lemon zest from one whole lemon

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 375ºF. Line a 9x5x3 loaf pan with parchment or foil, and grease with non-stick cooking spray.
  2. Cream together the butter and sugar. Add the banana and mix well.
  3. Add the eggs one at a time, mixing in between each addition. Mix in the lemon juice, flour, baking soda, vanilla, salt, poppyseeds, and lemon zest.
  4. Scrape batter into the prepared pan. Bake for 1 hour or until toothpick inserted comes out clean.
  5. Let cool completely before slicing.
Leave a Reply

