Cranberry Avocado Spinach Salad with Chicken and Orange Poppy Seed Dressing

I have another “free” day today! Hopefully today I will actually accomplish something! I have a long to do list that I am determined to complete. The list involves some cleaning, shopping, and of course cooking and baking:) I am making a whole bunch of delicious food this week and I can’t wait to share it with you. The week got off to a bad start with that gorgonzola pizza on Monday, but I redeemed myself with a salad last night. Rose came over to watch Pretty Little Liars, so of course we had to make food! It’s tradition.

Because I am in love with salads, we fixed ourselves a mighty tasty one and proceeded to fill our bellies with it’s deliciousness!

Blog Pic #227

I have come to realize that it might be impossible for me to find a salad I do not like. When you really think about it, all the salads that I make are relatively similar. They all have some sort of sweet and salty combination, usually some crunch, and most have a vinaigrette-like dressing. I guess it make sense that all of my salads are relatively similar because I know what I like, and I make salads that sound good to me! There are definitely salads out there that I do not like (the mayo drenched ones especially:P), but I would never make one of those, so I don’t have to worry about them!

Blog Pic #228

So this salad has all of the typical ingredients of my salads! It has salt from the chicken and feta cheese, sweetness from the cranberries, and a light dressing made with some oils, lemon juice, and orange juice! The dressing was especially delicious! Rose gets all the credit for it:) I told her to just guesstimate on all the measures, so I think ours has a little extra orange juice and orange zest! I really liked that citrus flavor on the cranberries and feta! It really pulled the whole salad together.

Blog Pic #226

The avocado also took me by surprise! I have never had avocado on a salad that wasn’t a taco salad, so I didn’t know what to expect. It really added a nice smooth texture to the salad, and the taste was very subtle. Our avocado was still pretty hard, so our pieces stayed in nice little cubes that you could easily pick up with a fork!

Overall the salad was very very tasty! The recipe will definitely be saved!! We made only a couple slight changes to the recipe. We “fried” the chicken in a pan on the stove, and we didn’t go through the whole blender nonsense. We simply whisked the dressing together really well, and we thought it tasted just dandy! So why dirty a blender if you don’t need to?

Also just so you know, when I make my salads, I usually don’t follow the recipe for the amounts of toppings. I usually only follow the directions for the types of toppings and then of course for the dressing. I just put on as much as I want of each topping and then drizzle some dressing on, rather than mixing it all together.

http://www.cookingclassy.com/2014/12/cranberry-avocado-spinach-salad-chicken-orange-poppyseed-dressing/

Cranberry Avocado Spinach Salad with Chicken and Orange Poppy Seed Dressing

Ingredients

Dressing
    • 1/4 cup olive oil
    • 1/4 cup canola oil
    • 2 tsp orange zest
    • 1/4 cup fresh orange juice
    • 2 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
    • 2 Tbsp honey
    • 2 tsp dijon mustard
    • 1/4 tsp salt
    • 1 Tbsp poppy seeds
Salad
  • 1 lb chicken, grilled
  • 9 oz baby spinach
  • 2 medium avocados, cored and diced
  • 1 cup crumbled feta
  • 3/4 cup sliced almonds, toasted
  • 3/4 cup dried cranberries

Directions

  • Add olive oil, canola oil, orange zest, orange juice, lemon juice, honey, dijon mustard and salt to a blender. Pulse until well emulsified. Pour into a jar and stir in poppy seeds. Refrigerate until ready to use.
  • Add all salad ingredients to a large bowl. Pour dressing over top and toss to evenly coat. Serve immediately.
Leave a Reply

