Lemon Poppy Seed Pudding Cookies

So the lemon poppy seed obsession continues! This time with a new twist of MY creation! Maybe it has been done before, but I created THIS recipe all on my own! Well, I based it off of the Cashew Butterscotch Pudding Cookie recipe, but I made some changes, so now it’s mine! My very first recipe creation!! I am beyond excited!:)

Today my belly is filled with a recipe I created, Lemon Poppy Seed Pudding Cookies!

Blog Pic #224

So I’ll walk you through my brainstorming and recipe creating process. It all started when I made those butterscotch pudding cookies (which by the way you need to try!!). They turned out so yummy, and it got me to thinking. Why not try this same basic recipe with different puddings? Immediately I knew I needed to go to the grocery store to check out all the pudding flavors. When I finally made it to the grocery store, I realized there weren’t as many pudding flavors as I thought there were. Chocolate was too boring! Vanilla and white chocolate seemed lame! Then I saw it!! Lemon Pudding!! This was THE pudding I needed to experiment with! I have been loving lemon poppy seed lately, so why not put it into a chewy cookie. I had never had anything other than a lemon poppy seed muffin/bread/cakey thing before, so putting it into a chewy cookie seemed like it could be awesome and unique!

Blog Pic #221

So I brought my beautiful box of off-brand lemon pudding home and started to pick apart the butterscotch pudding cookie recipe and put together a lemon poppy seed pudding cookie recipe! Because I like to keep my recipes pretty, my first concern was color. This probably shouldn’t have been a main concern, but it was. Well anyways, I knew I wanted the cookies to be yellow, and I still didn’t have yellow food coloring, so I had to think of a way to make them extra yellowy! My first concern was the effect that the BROWN sugar would have on the coloring of the cookies. I decided to replace most of the brown sugar white white sugar. Now you might not know this, but I have read a lot about cookies, so I know that white sugar makes crispier cookies, while brown sugar keeps them soft and chewy. I still wanted a chewy cookie, so what did I do? I decided to add a little extra egg yolk! Egg yolk adds moisture and keeps cookies soft and chewy! Not only would it keep the cookies chewy, but it also adds YELLOW!! How perfect is that!!??

Blog Pic #223

So one morning I woke up and decided that today would be the day I tested my recipe. So I followed the Cashew Butterscotch Pudding Cookie recipe, replacing the some of the brown sugar with white sugar, using a little extra egg yolk and lemon pudding instead of butterscotch pudding. I decided on a whim to add a little lemon extract to really intensify the flavor, and then I stirred in some poppy seeds. Tah Dah!!

Blog Pic #222

Well not quite! You know I’ve been kicking myself for not making a sugar crust on either of my lemon poppy seed breads, well I can proudly tell you I did not forget the sugar crust this time. I took these cookies to the next level and rolled them in sugar! Boy am I happy I did! My younger sister said that was her favorite part! (She ate like half the batch, so she would know!!) It was the perfect finish to the cookies.

Blog Pic #225

I baked them, and took the first batch out too early, but I eventually figured out the baking time! They turned out soft and delicious, just as I had hoped!  they even gave me a wonderful surprise and crackled! This made them look even prettier than they had in my head!They tasted like lemon poppy seed bread in a chewy cookie! Overall it was a very successful experience! Unfortunately, I know not all of my recipe creations will be so successful! But I will keep trying because it’s so much fun to create something different and new!!

Lemon Poppy Seed Pudding Cookies

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/4 teaspoon lemon extract
  • 1 egg plus one egg yolk mixed, (use about 3 tablespoons of mixture)
  • 1 box (3.4 ounces) Instant Lemon Pudding Mix (not sugar-free)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tablespoon poppy seeds
  • 1/4-1/2 cup granulated sugar, for rolling

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Cream melted butter and sugars with hand mixer on medium-high speed. Mix in vanilla, lemon extract and egg until smooth. Mix in pudding mix (just the powdery mix, not actual pudding). Mix in salt, baking soda, and then flour, mixing until well blended. Mix in the poppy seeds and let dough sit for about 5 minutes!
  2. Drop cookie dough balls (I used a small cookie scoop, maybe 1-2 T sized) onto cookie sheets that have been greased. Chill for at least 30 minutes. When chilled, roll balls in sugar until coated.
  3. Preheat oven to 350°F. Bake for 10 minutes (watch cookies, don’t rely on my time too much!), until they are puffy (some of mine got a little golden on the top). Bake a little less if you want your cookies to be a little underdone! Enjoy:)
One thought on “Lemon Poppy Seed Pudding Cookies

Leave a Reply

