Cheesy Garlic Zucchini Bread

ZUCCHINI! It’s taking over! I have been eating it practically every single day for the past couple of weeks. Usually I just eat it baked in the oven with parmesan and garlic salt, but I have also been trying to find different ways to cook and bake with it! I made that zucchini bread and those zucchini bars. Last summer I made it into cookies, brownies, and lemon bread. I love sweet baked goods as I am sure you have figured out, but I wanted to try something different and put the zucchini into something that isn’t sweet!!

So what’s in my belly today? Today the cheesy goodness of a Cheesy Garlic Zucchini Bread Muffin is in my belly!

Blog Pic #236

The batter was super yummy! It was super thick. It was so thick that I actually added a little more zucchini to add some moisture. The recipe calls for 1 cup, but I probably used closer to 2 cups. All zucchini are different, so start with one cup and only add more if you think it’s necessary! I think my zucchini was relatively dry. Usually when I shred zucchini I have to drain a little bit of water from it, but this zucchini didn’t really have any moisture to drain!

Blog Pic #235

These muffins of cheesy, carb-y goodness were best straight from the oven! I kept breaking off little pieces from the lumpy tops of the muffins. I thought they were pretty spectacular, but at dinner, my family thought they needed a little more garlic or extra seasonings. If I make them again, I will probably add a clove or two of fresh garlic to the batter! One thing is for sure though, you need to eat these babies warm! They taste fine at room temperature, but heating them up makes them so much better!!

They kind of remind me of Red Lobster’s Cheddar Bay Biscuits. They have the same texture and both are filled with cheddar cheese! To make them even more like Red Lobster’s Biscuits add the fresh garlic to the batter, remove the dill, and serve them with a garlic butter:)

Blog Pic #237

The recipe calls for the to be baked in a loaf pan. Because I made them in a muffin pan, I had to adjust the baking time. I baked them for about 30 minutes, until golden and the tooth pick came out clean!

Blog Pic #234

http://emilyshares.blogspot.com/2011/08/cheesy-garlic-zucchini-bread-free.html

Cheesy Garlic Zucchini Bread

Preheat oven to 350 & prep a loaf pan (I used a mini-loaf pan)

Whisk together your dry ingredients:
– 3 c all purpose flour
– 4 tsp baking powder
– 1 tsp salt
– 1/2 tsp baking soda
– 1/2 tsp garlic powder

Then add:
– 1 c shredded zucchini
– 3/4 c shredded cheddar cheese
– 1/4 c of finely chopped green onion
– 1 Tbs fresh dill (or 2 tsp dry dill)

Toss and coat the above ingredients with the flour mixture.
In a separate bowl, whisk together the following:
– 2 lg eggs
– 1 c buttermilk
– 4 Tbs (1/2 stick) of melted butter (salted)

Leave a Reply

