Chocolate and Yogurt Zucchini Bread

Guess what?? Garage sales are my best friend! I have had such good luck this summer. I’ve only been to a couple, but I keep finding wonderful surprises! A couple weeks ago I bought 2 seasons of Friends for only $5 each! What a steal! Plus they were like brand spankin’ new!! This was an especially huge deal because I just recently started my Friends DVD collection. It started with one and then all of a sudden I have 5 seasons…I don’t even know how it happened!

Today I had another wonderful surprise greet me at a garage sale! And that surprise’s name is ZUCCHINI!! They are sooooooo huge! Bigger than I have ever seen the before!  I’ll take a picture of them so you understand! I’ll be having lot’s of zucchini recipes these next couple of weeks:) I am so not tired of them yet, and I hope you aren’t either because here’s another one:)

Chocolate and Yogurt Zucchini Bread made its way into my belly this morning!!

Blog Pic #241

I decided to make this recipe because I knew we had lots of plain yogurt leftover from when my mom made her banana bread last weekend. I really like making recipes with yogurt in them! I am still waiting to make some greek yogurt peanut butter swirled brownies!  I also just love yogurt! I have recently become a fan of Greek yogurt, (peach and cherry are my favs!). And actually, as my love for greek yogurt has grown, my dislike for regular yogurt has grown twice as much! I used to love vanilla yogurt, but now it’s like eating sugar goop! Sorry you probably don’t care! I’ll get back to today’s recipe!

Blog Pic #240

First things first! It was definitely a hit in this house! We’re at my grandparent’s house this weekend with my cousins, so there were quite a few people, but 3/4 of this bread was eaten along with 3/4 of that Cheesy Tater Tot Breakfast Bake (yes a repeat!!) and an entire mini loaf of a new banana bread that I will be sharing soon!

Blog Pic #239

It was super rich, fudgy, and chocolatey! It was very dense and didn’t rise very much unfortunately:( It was borderline brownie, but not enough to not consider it breakfast;) We ate it when it was still warm because that’s the best way!! It says to wait until it has cooled before slicing and serving, but do I do what I want!! I never truly follow the recipe anyway!

Blog Pic #238

There is loads of zucchini in this recipe. My zucchini was extremely wet, so I really had to squeeze out the moisture. I probably could have done it even more because the bread was really moist! Not wet, but getting close! Still delicious though, don’t let that scare you away! Even though I say it’s delicious, I must admit that I probably won’t make it again. I really want to find a bread that actually rises and is more bread like. Not that dense and fudgy isn’t wonderful, it’s just that I want more of a bread like bread! I’ll probably try another one with all of this zucchini I now have on my hands, so I’ll let you know if I find a better recipe!!

http://www.giverecipe.com/chocolate-yogurt-zucchini-bread.html

CHOCOLATE AND YOGURT ZUCCHINI BREAD
INGREDIENTS
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup sugar
  • ⅓ cup olive oil
  • ½ cup yogurt
  • 1 and ½ cups flour
  • ⅓ cup cocoa powder
  • 1 and ½ teaspoon baking powder
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla powder or extract
  • 3 cups grated and squeezed zucchini
  • 1 cup chocolate chips, ¼ of it for topping
INSTRUCTIONS
  1. Preheat oven to 350F (180C). Grease 2 loaf pans (8 ½ x4 ½ inches) and set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, beat eggs and sugar. Add in olive oil and yogurt and mix well.
  3. Add in cocoa and mix with a spatula.
  4. Mix flour, salt, vanilla powder and baking powder in a bowl and sift into the egg wet mixture. Stir until smooth, but don’t overdo it.
  5. Add in grated zucchini and stir just until it is coated with the batter.
  6. Put ¼ cup of chocolate chips aside. Sprinkle a little flour over the rest of it and fold in the batter. Don’t overmix it.
  7. Share the batter into the pans. Top each with the chocolate chips and bake for 65 minutes.
  8. Let it cool completely before slicing and serving.
Leave a Reply

