Chocolate Coconut Almond Joy Brownies

Sometimes you feel like a nut. Sometimes you don’t. Almond Joys got nut! Mounds don’t!

I heard this all weekend long as a result of making these brownies! My aunt repeated it over and over! She was definitely feeling like a nut;) I just watched the actual commercial on you tube, and now the song is stuck in my head! I’m singing it as I right this post because I too am feeling like a nut;) That’s a bad joke…I’ll stop now!! If you want to join in on this madness watch the video. Once you watch it, it will be burned into your memory! It’s a wonderful little song, and a very effective commercial!

For my Grandma’s birthday celebration, we all filled our bellies with Almond Joy Brownies!!

Blog Pic #249

There are three things you will always find on the counter at my grandparents’ house. 1) Peanut M&Ms 2) Golden Oreos 3) ALMOND JOYS. They’re one of my grandma’s favorite candies. I already made her Almond Joy Cookies at Christmas, so I decided to try another Almond Joy inspired recipe! Almond Joy Brownies seemed like the perfect thing!

Blog Pic #246

These brownies are rich!! Like richer than rich!! They are so thick and full of chocolate and oh so chewy! I cut the pan into 16 bars! Everyone took their first bite and claimed they wouldn’t be able to eat an entire bar because they were so rich, but guess what? Everyone ate their full bar:) So what I am saying is that they are crazy decadent and filling, but they taste so dang good you won’t be able to control yourself.

Blog Pic #250

You know how I said I am picky about coconut? Well I definitely loved it on this brownie! We only put half of the sweetened condensed milk and coconut mixture on, but I think I would have been fine with the full amount! Coconut was really hitting the spot for me! It’s a good thing we didn’t though because not everyone there was a huge fan of coconut. My cousin tried an actual Almond Joy right before eating the brownie so she could compare them. Her verdict: The brownies taste nothing like an almond joy, but they are really good. However, I personally disagree. When you get a thick layer of coconut in your bite, they definitely taste like Almond Joys/Mounds (if the bite didn’t include an almond). Part of the reason she believed they didn’t taste very much like an Almond Joy is because the brownies are made with dark chocolate and semi sweet chocolate. They are more like a Mounds bar in this way…but I added the almonds on top, so they are a bit more like an Almond Joy…

Blog Pic #248

Whether they taste more like an Almond Joy or more like a Mounds or not at all like either, they are still incredibly delicious! When you have to lick your teeth after taking a bite of a brownie, you know it’s good:)

Blog Pic #251

They’re very easy to make! I only adjusted a couple of things. I halved the coconut mixture, which still gives you lots of coconutty goodness! I also added almonds on top! One for each bar so that it looked nice and pretty!! Also, I left out that coffee nonsense! I hate coffee, so I am terrified to try that again! I did it once in a black bean brownie (which was nasty by the way!!) and I could definitely taste the coffee:P

Averie Cooks is the author of this recipe!!

http://www.averiecooks.com/2014/02/chocolate-coconut-mounds-bar-brownies.html

Chocolate Coconut Mounds Bar Brownies

INGREDIENTS:

6 ounces dark chocolate, coarsely chopped (I used TJ’s 72% Pound Plus bar)
1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
2 large eggs
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1/4 light brown sugar, packed
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 tablespoon coffee (leftover from the morning brew is fine), optional but recommended
1 teaspoon instant espresso granules, optional but recommended
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
2 1/2 cups sweetened shredded coconut flakes, loosely packed
one 12-ounce can sweetened condensed milk
1 1/2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F. Line an 8×8-inch pan with aluminum foil leaving overhang, spray with cooking spray; set aside. It’s mandatory to line your pan or you’ll never get the brownies out.
  2. In a large microwave-safe bowl, combine the dark chocolate, butter, and heat on high power to melt, about 1 minute. Stop to check and stir. Reheat in 15-second bursts until mixture can be stirred smooth.
  3. Add the eggs, sugar, vanilla, optional coffee, optional espresso granules, and whisk until smooth. Coffee and espresso don’t make the brownies taste like coffee; they enhance the chocolate flavor.
  4. Add the flour and stir until just combined; don’t overmix.
  5. Turn batter out into prepared pan, smoothing the top lightly with a spatula and bake until brownies are just set and done, about 28 minutes in my oven. Start checking at 25 minutes. A toothpick inserted in the center should come out with a few moist crumbs, but no batter. Don’t overbake because brownies go back into the oven after they’re topped with coconut.
  6. While brownies are baking, in a large bowl (the same one you used for the brownies is fine, just wipe it clean with a paper towel) combine the coconut, sweetened condensed milk, and toss to coat evenly; set aside until brownies come out of oven.
  7. When brownies are done and removed from the oven, evenly top with the coconut mixture. Smooth the top lightly with a spatula, pushing mixture gentle into all corners.
  8. Evenly sprinkle with chocolate chips.
  9. Return pan to oven and bake for 5 minutes.
  10. Remove pan from oven and using a spatula, lightly smooth the chocolate chips. They will be have softened enough to smooth out when pressed lightly with a spatula.
  11. Place pan on a wire rack and allow to cool, undisturbed, for at least 2 to 3 hours, or until top chocolate layer has set; allowing to cool overnight is best.
  12. When ready to serve, lift brownies of pan using foil overhang, place on a large cutting board, and slice with your biggest and sharpest knife. Slicing is messy, but the longer brownies cool, the easier and less messy it is. Brownies will keep airtight at room temperature for up to 1 week or in the freezer for up to 6 months.
Leave a Reply

