Zucchini Bars with Brown Butter Frosting

We have a winner!! Best Zucchini Bars Ever Made!! A zillion times better than those tropical ones I made earlier called Frosted Zucchini Bars. I thought the first ones were pretty good! I mean they were different and unique, something new and exciting, but they can’t even begin to compare with my newest zucchini bars.

So into my belly these scrumptious bars go! One after another, after another, after another!!

Blog Pic #268

(There’s a giant zucchini again! This is actually the smallest of the bunch!!)

Zucchini again? Yes, zucchini again! I apologize! But not really because these bars are about to rock your world!! You can’t even taste the zucchini, so let’s just pretend this isn’t a zucchini recipe, but don’t leave out the zucchini!!! It’s actually pretty essential for this recipe. It’s what gives the bars there texture and helps keep them moist and soft. All that oil helps a lot too;)

Blog Pic #269

You know what else gives the bars some texture!!?? WALNUTS!! I am a big believer in texture, so adding nuts to just about anything makes me a happy girl! I definitely would have loved the pecans that the recipe actually calls for, but we only had walnuts. They were wonderful as well though!!

Blog Pic #271

Have you ever had brown butter? If your answer is no, you have a serious problem you need to take care of ASAP!! It will change your life! It’s super easy to make. There’s tutorials online, but it’s super easy. Just place your butter in a sauce pan over medium high heat. Swirl the pan every once in a while, watching the butter go from a stick, to melted butter, to sizzling melted butter, to brown colored sizzling butter. Then quickly pour it into another bowl so it doesn’t burn! If it makes you nervous, just look up a tutorial and they’ll be more descriptive. Once you realize how easy it is, you’ll be wanting to put it in everything. I’ve had it in homemade snicker’s bars, banana bread, glaze, frosting, cookies, and more! It is so full of flavor! The frosting may be one of the main reasons these bars are so dang good!

Blog PIc #270

I altered the recipe a little bit.

  1. I made my bars in a 9 by 13 inch pan. I don’t think I’ll be doing that next time though. They were really thick! Not really a problem because there was still plenty of frosting with each bite, but I think I would rather have a whole bunch of skinny bars!
  2. I made 1/2 of the frosting recipe. I did this for two reasons…1) When I follow the recipe, I always have extra frosting leftover. This sin’t always a bad thing because hello it’s frosting, but I sometimes find it hard to use up! I still have leftover frosting from that fruit pizza… 2) I made the bars in a smaller pan, so there is less surface area to cover! Aaah math:) The only thing that confuses me is that the recipe calls to be made in a pan that is 150 inches squared, and my recipe was made in a pan that is 117 inches squared. Well according to this, it would appear that I might want to make more like 3/4 of the frosting recipe right? Right?? NO! Wrong! Well not wrong necessarily, but 1/2 of the frosting recipe is plenty of frosting even with super thick bars! If I had made the 10 by 15 pan the recipe calls for and made the entire frosting recipe, my bars would have been like 50% frosting and 50% zucchini bar. Yes I know frosting = life, especially brown butter frosting, but there I want my frosting to compliment my bars, not smother them.

These bars are moist, dense, thick, and rich with a nice thick coating of some super creamy frosting that is bursting with flavor from the brown butter!!

Blog Pic #272

So based off of how I made the recipe this time, I think if I make them again I will make them in a 10 by 15 inch pan and frost them with 1/2 of the frosting! I’ll maybe add some extra frosting eventually, but I will start with 1/2 of the recipe.

http://therecipecritic.com/2014/07/zucchini-bars-brown-butter-frosting/

Zucchini Bars with Brown Butter Frosting
INGREDIENTS
  • 1½ cups granulated sugar
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1½ teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 2 cups shredded zucchini (about 3 medium)
  • 1½ cups chopped pecans
  • Brown Butter Frosting:
  • 6 tablespoons butter
  • 6 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 8 to 10 tablespoons milk
INSTRUCTIONS
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease a 15x10x1 inch pan. In a medium mixing bowl, add flour, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon. Set aside.
  2. In a mixer, add sugar, oil and eggs and mix until smooth. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients until incorporated.
  3. Stir in zucchini and chopped pecans. Spread evenly in prepared pan. Cook for 30-40 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes clean. Let bars cool completely.
  4. To make the brown butter frosting, heat a medium sized saucepan to medium heat. Add butter and whisk until it turns brown. Add in powdered sugar, vanilla and milk. Stir together until smooth. Spread over cooled bars.
Leave a Reply

