Peanut Butter Zucchini Bread with Brown Sugar Streusel

Okay back to zucchini! I would love to tell you that my zucchini recipes are almost done…but that would be a lie! I have two more giant zucchini to take care of! I’ll try and put some non-zucchini recipes in between though! I think I’ll be making lots of treats this week. My friend is coming over, I am nannying, and I don’t work Friday, so I will likely be spending a lot of time in the kitchen;)

I am a little bit shocked that I am still loving all things zucchini! I am not tired of it yet, so I am going to keep on eating it! This time I am eating it in the form of a Peanut Butter Zucchini Muffins!

Blog Pic #278

The first time I had these, I wasn’t extremely impressed. I was planning on writing about how I would probably never make them again…but I am eating one now as I write this post and I think I am changing my mind! They grew on me I guess!! My grandma and my mom’s friend really really liked them. I was really happy that they liked them because I feared nobody was going to eat them, but now I wish I would have eaten more of them.

Blog Pic #280

I have also been doing some thinking about how to doctor them up and make them even better! They call for peanut butter chips, but what about chocolate chips? Peanut butter and chocolate is a classic combination! Almost as classic as peanut butter and jelly. And speaking of peanut butter and jelly, what about taking out the baking chips altogether and swirling in some jelly like I did in that peanut butter and jelly banana bread? Or maybe even swirling in some extra peanut butter? Or if I want to add some crunch to the muffins, I could use crunchy peanut butter. Oh and another idea just came into my mind!! What about a swirl of Nutella?? I am starting to love these muffins more and more! They have so much potential!! I want to make them again with some of these variations!!

Blog Pic #277

I made the recipe pretty much as written, but I did add some chopped peanuts on top because we had some laying around! I of course added a little extra zucchini to the recipe as well:) I also made the bread in muffin form because I had some super awesome muffin liners to use and because muffins are cute!!

Blog Pic #279

The muffins were nice and moist! They have just the right amount of comforting peanut butter flavor. I was not a huge fan of the peanut butter flavored chips though! I don’t think I would make them with those again, but I will definitely make them with that jelly swirl because I absolutely loved that in my peanut butter banana bread!!

Blog Pic #281

This post was brought to you in part by Terri and her wonderful gift of muffin liners:) I wish my pictures could have been better and really showed off the muffin liners, but this is what I got:(

Here’s the original recipe, but take my advice and add some chocolate, or jelly or Nutella!! Or maybe make them with some chunky peanut butter or stir in some peanuts for some lovely texture!!

Peanut Butter Zucchini Bread with Brown Sugar Streusel
Ingredients
  • ¾ cup creamy peanut butter
  • ¼ cup canola oil
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 cups grated zucchini
  • 1½ cups peanut butter baking chips
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
Streusel Topping:
  • ½ cup brown sugar
  • ½ cup flour
  • 3 tablespoons softened butter
Instructions
  1. Mix together the peanut butter, oil, sugar, eggs, vanilla, zucchini and peanut butter chips in a bowl. Set aside. In a separate bowl, mix together the flour, salt, baking soda, and baking powder. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix just until combined.
  2. In a small bowl, combine the brown sugar, flour and softened butter. Mix until the streusel is crumbly.
  3. Grease and flour two loaf pans. Split the batter between the two pans. Divide the streusel topping between the two loaf pans, sprinkling the streusel on top. Bake at 325 degrees for 1 hour and 5 minutes.
Leave a Reply

