Healthier Peanut Butter Chocolate Rice Krispie Treats

My father’s Special K Bars can not be beat! I love his recipe so so so much that I rarely will try anybody else’s! Now wait, before you start thinking that I don’t try other recipes because I am afraid I might be wrong and there might actually be a better version out there let me explain. I don’t try other recipes because I know they will never live up to my dad’s version, and I don’t want to settle for anything less than the best. I have very high standards when it comes to these bars. It’s not that the other bars taste bad, it’s just that they don’t taste like my dads!

Well after all that talk of my dad’s glorious bars, I am here to tell you that my belly is not full of his Special K Bars, but it is filled with something similar. Healthier Peanut Butter Chocolate Rice Krispie Treats!!

Blog Pic #290

So I want to make something very very clear! Today’s recipe is not an attempt at competing with my father’s Special K Bars (which I should mention do not actually use Special K Cereal, instead they use off brand corn flakes). These bars were simply an attempt to use up some brown rice syrup that has been sitting in my cupboard since way back in June when I made those Sweet & Salty Almond Granola Bars. It was about time I tried it in a new recipe, so I did what any person would do. I searched Pinterest and this is what I found. I knew that the combination of peanut butter and chocolate is always a hit, so I figured this would be the perfect thing to slip some healthy brown rice syrup into. The taste of brown rice syrup, in my opinion, is not super great. It’s not gross, but I much prefer honey when it comes to liquid sweeteners.It’s really good for you though because it takes your body a long time to digest…I am not entirely positive why that’s good, but I think it has something to do with keeping you full longer:)

Blog Pic #291

These bars are actually pretty darn good. I was impressed by them! They in no way compete with Special K Bars. Probably because Special K Bars are loaded with fat and sugar which makes them taste a zillion times better!! But if you have a chocolate and peanut butter craving, and you have a big jar of brown rice syrup in your fridge, and you don’t want all the fatty goodness of an actual Special K Bar, try these! They might surprise you!

The only weird comment I got about these bars was that they tasted a little burnt and a little bit like coffee…:( That was my dad’s opinion. After smelling the bars, I kind of understand the whole coffee thing. It still shocked me though because I despise coffee and I didn’t taste it. Usually I am all over the whole coffee thing. I have some Salted Caramel Whipped Peanut Butter that I believe tastes like coffee, so I just can’t eat it anymore:( The burnt comment he was totally alone on. Nobody else that had one thought they tasted burnt.

Blog Pic #292

So today you are in for a treat! I am going to give you BOTH recipes. The one for the Healthier Peanut Butter Chocolate Rice Krispie Treats and the one for my dad’s famous Special K Bars. However, I feel I must tell you that I have never made my dad’s version because I think he does it best and I don’t want to mess it up. He doesn’t even follow the recipe anymore, so he may make slight variations that I am not aware of, but this is the original recipe.

A minor change was made to the Krispie Treats. I used about 1/4 cup chocolate chips and 1/4 cup butterscotch chips because that’s what we use on our Special K Bars and I am a huge fan of the combination:) You will be too!! Also notice the caps lock for the word refrigerate! they get extremely soft at room temperature, so I recommend keeping them in the fridge!

http://www.texanerin.com/2014/06/chocolate-peanut-butter-rice-krispie-treats.html#_a5y_p=1898161

Healthier Peanut Butter Chocolate Rice Krispie Treats

Ingredients

  • ⅓ cup (87 grams) natural peanut butter
  • ¼ cup (75 grams) brown rice syrup
  • 2 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 2 cups Rice Krispies (60 grams)
  • ½ cup (90 grams) chopped semi-sweet chocolate, melted

Directions

  1. Get out a piece of parchment paper (mine was about 9″x5″).
  2. In a medium pot over low heat, mix together the peanut butter, rice syrup, and maple syrup.
  3. Heat until the mixture bubbles, remove from the heat and stir in the vanilla.
  4. Add the Rice Krispies and carefully stir until the Rice Krispies are well coated.
  5. Scoop the mixture onto the parchment paper and pat into your desired shape.
  6. Pat down so that the mixture is relatively compact. My bars were about ¾” thick.
  7. Let it cool for 10 minutes and then spread on the chocolate.
  8. Refrigerate for an hour and then cut into bars.
  9. Place in an airtight container and REFRIGERATE!!!

And now for the big finale! My dad’e recipe for the most delicious, heavenly, gooey, chewy and knock-your-socks-off amazing Special K Bars!! That don’t actually use Special K cereal;)

Special K Bars

Bring 1 cup sugar, 1 cup white syrup, and 1 cup shortening (we use Crisco) to a boil.

Add 1/2 cup crunchy peanut butter (we use creamy) and mix together. Take off of heat.

Mix in 6 cups Corn Flakes (I don’t believe my dad measures this anymore, so he might use a little more or a little less).

Pat into a 9 by 13 inch pan.

Melt together 6 oz chocolate chips and 6 oz butterscotch chips.

Spread over bars and allow to cool. ( My dad usually cuts them while they’re still warm because he thinks it’s easier)

Leave a Reply

