White Chocolate Cookie Crumb Truffles

Have you ever had a Nutter Butter? Well until I made this recipe I had never had one! GASP!! I know, I know! We just don’t buy stuff like that at my house, and I guess I never really had the opportunity to try them elsewhere. They were pretty good. Nothing spectacular, but they would definitely satisfy a peanut butter craving, but I would much rather satisfy that craving with something homemade not store bought:P Now, if I am going to be completely honest in my review of Nutter Butters, I should tell you that I didn’t have an actual Nutter Butter. I had the Market Pantry off brand from Target because I am cheap. The biggest difference is that the off brand is shaped like an Oreo instead of a peanut! I am assuming that other than that, they taste the exact same. So why not save the money and buy the cheap one? If you know for a fact they do not taste the same, let me know, and I will splurge and buy the actual brand name Nutter Butters!

Ellie’s belly today is being occupied by some adorable little truffles!

Blog Pic #293

Cute right?? I love those white sprinkles. Color is awesome, but sometimes simple white pearls can be just as fun!

I made these little guys with the little girl I nanny for. She enjoys baking with me, so we have done it a couple of times this summer. They don’t have a food processor:( So we made these in a blender…sort of…it didn’t work super well. The cookies blended up pretty good in the blender. There were only a handful of chunks that didn’t get blended well enough. We ended up just breaking them up in our fingers. The big problem with the blender was that it didn’t blend the peanut butter or cream cheese in very well, or really at all. We ended up pouring the contents into a bowl and mixing it with our hands and a spatula. This worked much better than the blender, but was a little bit, well a lot a bit more messy! Messy is fun when you’re baking though! My mom however does not seem to agree with this;) She gets a little overwhelmed when I make a mess in the kitchen. I guess I understand that, so I do my best to stay clean and I clean up after myself 98% of the time. I am by no means perfect, but I try my best to please her because she buys a majority of my baking supplies.

Blog Pic #295

Oh ya! Let’s get back to truffles!! We had to add about a tablespoon more of the cream cheese AND the peanut butter. Before doing so, our truffle dough was pretty dry:( I don’t know exactly why that was…the recipe calls for 12 Nutter Butter or golden sandwich cookies. So based off of that, it doesn’t seem like having circle shaped “Nutter Butters” would effect anything because the Market Pantry “Nutter Butters” are roughly the size of a Golden Oreo or a golden sandwich cookie. UNLESS!! These Market Pantry “Nutter Butters” have less filling than golden sandwich cookies and/or actual real deal Nutter Butters! Hmm this is something to think about!! Well regardless, after mixing up all the truffle ingredients into a nice and creamy (but not too creamy) consistency, we rolled them into cute little balls and put them in the freezer to get ready to be dipped in the white chocolate coating. Just add either more cookies or more creamy ingredients to get the right truffle texture. Just make sure it doesn’t get too wet because you want to be able to roll the dough into balls without it getting too stuck to your fingers and hands.

Blog Pic #294

This recipe comes from my peanut butter cookbook. Usually I don’t give you those recipes, but this isn’t really much of a recipe, so I’ll write it out for you in my own words! Seriously though! If you are a lover of the delicious creamy spread we call peanut butter, than do yourself a favor and buy this cookbook! It’s one of my favorites!!

Blog Pic #296

White Chocolate Cookie Crumb Truffles

12 Nutter Butters or golden sandwich cookies

2 tablespoons creamy peanut butter

2 tablespoons cream cheese

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

white chocolate coating/vanilla almond bark (the recipe calls for 12 oz, but the amount may very depending on what size you make your truffles and how thick you coat them)

about 1 teaspoon – 1 tablespoon shortening/oil to thin out the chocolate so that it coats the truffles nicely

Lots of SpRiNkLeS:)

  1. In food processor, ground up the cookies.
  2. Add peanut butter, cream cheese, and vanilla. Mix until a creamy truffle texture forms (I used about 3 tablespoons of peanut butter and 3 tablespoons of cream cheese, but start with two and adjust accordingly)
  3. Form into about 18 balls. Place them in freezer for 1 hour.
  4. Melt chocolate. Stir in oil to thin out the chocolate if it’s too thick. Be careful not to add too much because if you do the chocolate will not completely harden EVER!!
  5. Dip/roll the truffles in the melted chocolate.
  6. Quickly cover the truffles with sprinkles because the chocolate will harden fast because the truffles are frozen and very cold!
  7. Place back in freezer or in fridge to allow the chocolate to harden completely.
  8. Store in the fridge and enjoy!!
Leave a Reply

