Browned Butter Oatmeal Raisinet White Chocolate Bars

Okay folks! Now that I have completed my summer challenge, I am going to focus more on sharing recipes that are actually good! Working towards completing my 100 NEW recipes, I came across some recipes that were less than great. I shared them with you because the point of the blog was to write down my journey through 100 recipes, but now that my journey is complete (well at least that one) I don’t have to worry about sharing the recipe duds! From now on, or for sure until I find a new goal that requires me to share the duds, I will only be sharing the best of the best! And let me tell you these bars are one of the bests!

Please, please fill your belly with these loaded oatmeal bars!

Blog Pic #298

My friend and baking companion Rose made these bars with me! I chose these bars because I knew she loved chocolate covered raisins and I knew I had a whole bunch of them from some gorp/trail mix we made. That gorp is my new favorite!

Ellie’s Usual Gorp – peanuts, almonds, M&Ms, raisins, cranberries and on rare occasion even cashews

Ellie’s Favorite Gorp of the Moment – yogurt covered peanuts (found at Fleet Farm), chocolate covered raisins, sesame sticks (best things ever!!), lightly salted peanuts, golden raisins, cranberries and almonds!

Well anyways, the chocolate covered raisins came in a HUGE bag compared to the other ingredients, so we had plenty left over. So as always, I measured out the amount I needed for this recipe and hid them;) Trust me I NEED to! It never fails, if I don’t hide what I need, it gets eaten! So when it was time to make these bars I pulled those babies out of their hiding place and still had the perfect amount!

Blog Pic #297

So this recipe calls for browned butter! I talked a little about browned butter in that post of Zucchini Bars with Brown Butter Glaze. So if you read that, you know about my brown butter adoration! Make it, and you will understand. It takes butter to a whole new level! It has a wonderfully nutty smell and a taste equally as wonderful. So to start this recipe we browned up some butter and got right to work. This recipe calls for a lot of cinnamon! Like a LOT! A whole tablespoon! As we mixed it in, we were a bit worried that the cinnamon might be a bit overwhelming, but that was not the case. Yes, there was plenty of cinnamon flavor, but it was a good amount. Don’t be alarmed by the color of the dough. It looks really dark when you make it, but it lightens up as you bake the bars. We were also a little bit concerned about the fact that the recipe only called for 1/4 cup of flour!! That’s it! I was worried the bars would be super crumbly and not stick together very well, but it turned out alright. When the bars were still a little warm, they were pretty crumbly, but they became more solid as they cooled. So all ended well with this recipe. All of my worries disappeared with my first bite into this flavor packed bar.

Blog Pic #299

The best bites are the ones with chocolate covered raisins:) The chocolate around the raisins kind of melts and disappears (not in flavor though!!) into the oatmeal bar and it tastes incredible! I can’t forget about the white chocolate chips because those are definitely a necessary part of these bars!! They pair so well with the cinnamon. This bars deliciousness is undeniable, so everyone needs to make them ASAP!

My family really enjoyed these bars too. I saw my younger sister eating one, so I asked if she liked it because I am always looking for opinions to put on my blog. She responded by saying she wasn’t sure yet…haha! I had already seen her eat multiple bars, so I think it’s safe to say she liked them. I mean if you’re willing to keep eating them, they must be pretty darn good:)

Blog Pic #300

Here’s the recipe from averiecooks.com:) I hope you are starting to love her blog as much as I do!

http://www.averiecooks.com/2013/05/browned-butter-oatmeal-raisinet-white-chocolate-bars.html

Browned Butter Oatmeal Raisinet White Chocolate Bars

INGREDIENTS:

  • 10 tablespoons unsalted butter, browned (1 stick/8 tablespoons + 2 tablespoons)
  • 1 large egg
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • pinch salt, optional and to taste
  • 1 1/4 cups old-fashioned whole rolled oats (not instant or quick cook)
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup chocolate covered raisins
  • 1/2 cup white chocolate chips

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F. Line an 8-by-8-inch baking pan with aluminum foil, leaving overhang. Spray with cooking spray; set aside.
  2. Place butter in medium-sized heavy saucepan and heat over medium-low to medium heat. Butter will melt, begin to bubble, foam, hiss, sputter, and brown specks will form in the bottom of the pan; this takes approximately 2 to 4 minutes. During the process, whisk or swirl the pan frequently and keep an extremely watchful eye on the butter. Brown it long enough to see browned bits and specks, but don’t burn it. Butter can go from browned and nutty-smelling to burnt and inedible in less than one minute. Watch for the brown specks and once you see them, remove the pan from the burner, continuing to whisk or swirl for another 30 seconds or so.Transfer butter into large mixing bowl and allow it to cool for a few minutes (so you don’t scramble the egg).
  3. To the slightly cooled melted butter, add the egg, sugars, vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg, optional salt, and whisk to combine. Add the oats, flour, and stir until just combined. Fold in the Raisinets and white chocolate chips. Turn batter out into prepared pan, smoothing it lightly with a spatula.
  4. Bake for 22 to 25 minutes, or until top surface of bars has just set and edges have firmed up. Don’t overbake or bars will set up on the crunchy and crumbly side. Allow bars to cool for at least 1 hour before slicing and serving. Bars can be stored airtight at room temperature for up to 4 days, or in the freezer for up to 3 months.
Leave a Reply

