Tomato Bruschetta

This recipe is not new for me, instead it is a classic! We don’t have it very often at our house, but when we do it gets gobbled up! We have tomatoes coming out of our ears right now, so we’ve been trying to use them all up in different ways. This is one of my favorite ways to do just that. We actually stopped at a farmer’s market this weekend and bought some yellow tomatoes to put in this bruschetta. We’re weird I guess because we definitely had plenty of red ones to use up, but the yellow ones were exciting and they gave the recipe even more color. I have plenty of other ways to use up our tomatoes, so I am not too concerned. I think pesto and tomato pasta is on the menu tonight;)

Bellies around the world should be filled with this colorful little appetizer because Tomato Bruschetta is always a crowd pleaser:)

Blog Pic #304

It’s a simple recipe. I use the recipe more for it’s list of ingredients rather than for it’s measurements. I like just guessing and putting what I think looks right into a bowl, tasting it, and adjusting as necessary. I will give you the actual recipe in case you’re more of follow the recipe exactly kind of person. In some cases you definitely should be a recipe follower, but in this case it’s not really necessary. This recipe is very forgiving and you should adjust it to your liking. For example, I love me some parmesan, so I love adding extra!

The ingredient list is quite small. The main ingredients being tomatoes, basil and parmesan. Don’t forget the other ingredients though. They are of extreme importance. The recipe needs a little onion, garlic and salt and pepper to make it’s flavor really pop. I think it tastes best if you let it sit for a couple hours in the fridge. This allows all the flavors to mix and mingle.

Blog Pic #306

You can serve this on french bread like the recipe says. If you’re like me though, you can eat it like a salad. Just take a bowl, scoop some in, add lots of extra parmesan cheese, and call it lunch:) If you’re serving it as an appetizer though, definitely use the french bread because it takes away the need for lots of silverware and dishes. Plus, carbs are a wonderful thing that everyone enjoys;)

This is one of my favorite recipes, so I knew I needed to share it with you all. I love how fancy it feels, even though I know there is nothing truly fancy about it. I just feel so dainty placing tomatoes one-by-one on top of my golden bread, making sure to get the right proportion of bruschetta to bread and tomato to parmesan. If you have never had a tomato bruschetta, you have been missing out. But miss out no more!! This recipe is a breeze and you’ll be eating tomato heaven in no time at all:)

Blog Pic #305

Tomato Bruschetta

1 baked loaf of french bread

2 tablespoons olive oil

3 medium red ripe tomatoes ( I used 2 large yellow tomatoes and 5 small red tomatoes)

1 small onion (I used about 1/4 of a large red onion)

1/2 cup shredded parmesan cheese (add more if you want)

2 tablespoons FRESH basil (2 teaspoons dried works as well, but isn’t as good)

1 garlic clove

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

Chop tomatoes and onion to desired size (you want them pretty small so they fit nicely on the french bread). Add chopped basil. Add minced garlic and seasonings to mixture. Allow mixture to sit in the fridge for at least 1 hour. When you take it out, you may need to drain some extra tomato juices, but not all because thats where a lot of the flavor is. Stir it well before serving. Mix in parmesan cheese before serving (I wait to add the parmesan cheese because I don’t like it to get too soggy, but you can add it before putting the mixture in the fridge).

Preheat oven to 400F. Slice baked bread and place slices on baking sheet. Lightly brush with olive oil. Bake 10 minutes or until lightly browned. Spoon mixture onto baked bread and enjoy. Don’t spoon it on too early because the tomato juices will cause the bread to get soggy. If you are serving it as an appetizer, allow the guests to spoon on their own bruschetta. Just place the bruschetta out with a spoon next to the toasted bread. Enjoy:)

Leave a Reply

