Toasty Ham & Swiss Stacks

Look at me! Two non-desserts in a row! Don’t freak out! There are definitely more desserts on the way, but until then let’s enjoy some salty and savory food! I know it may seem like all I eat is dessert, but I swear I actually eat like a normal person. The thing is, the food I non-dessert food I eat usually isn’t based on a recipe. For this reason, I don’t post anything on my blog about it. I don’t even know if you can call this a recipe, but because it was in a cook book I am going to share it:) Believe me, you will be happy I did.

This yummy sandwich leaves you with a very full belly!

It’s got bread, cheese, and meat! It will definitely keep you satisfied until dinner. We made ours open faced, so I can only imagine how full I would be after a double bread sandwich.

Let’s start with the base. The bread!! It’s on rye. We got light unseeded rye. I don’t know exactly what that means, but I think it effects the strength of the “rye” flavor. Ours had a very mild flavor which was good because I don’t like it super strong and neither does my younger sister!

Blog Pic #307

Now for the meat! Ham! Ooooh I love me some ham! I am kind of alone on this though. My family is not huge fans of it though:( So I don’t get it very often unfortunately! That’s kind of a good thing I guess. It preserves the specialness. Now let me clarify because I am sure you are all beyond fascinated with my taste in ham. I love lunch meat ham! I also will eat “Easter” ham, like the stuff you actually need to carve, but I love the lunch meat kind a million times more:)

Is there anything better than melty cheese on a warm sandwich? I love sandwiches! They’re one of my absolute favorite meals. Cold sandwiches are like my favorite lunch! I ate an Erbert and Gerbert sandwich every day for lunch this past year at college (Boney Billy on honey wheat bread with no mayo, extra tomatoes and lettuce, and add cucumbers!!). Sometimes though,I just crave a hot a melty sandwich! Sometimes when you toast it, it makes it taste a zillion times better! Heating up a sandwich transforms it into a gourmet meal!! And the fact that it’s Swiss cheese makes it even better! Swiss is another one of my favorite cheeses! I just love cheese, period!! Parmesan, Swiss, and Goat/Feta just to name a few!

Blog Pic #308

You know what else makes things feel gourmet? Fancy sauces! and this sandwich has a good one! It’s super simple, but that doesn’t matter because everyone will think it’s fancy! It’s a mix of mayo, Dijon mustard, and dill (the recipe calls for fresh, but we used dried).

The final touches on the sandwich include red onions and some sauteed mushrooms! Yumm!! MuShRoOmS! I have always loved mushrooms! I can eat them any way! Canned (yes, straight from the can), grilled (which is the best way!!), and fresh! Yes, I have brought them in school lunches and have been judged fiercely. It’s not THAT weird is it? Raw mushrooms are totally normal if you ask me, but some people think it’s a bit odd.

Blog Pic #309

There’s nothing super radical or crazy about these sandwiches, but they were very tasty! I made them at my grandparents house, and there were no complaints! I would totally make these again if we ever have all the ingredients on hand! Which would not be a super uncommon thing! We have a pretty big supply of cheese at all times, and I keep pushing for the ham when we go grocery shopping.

So let’s get down to business! Here’s the “recipe”, which is more like a list of ingredients if you ask me. Adjust the amounts as you see fit! Add more, use less, or leave out ingredients all together!

Toasty Ham & Swiss Stacks

2 T mayo

4 t Dijon mustard

2 t fresh dill (or in my case, a sprinkle of dried dill)

salt and pepper to taste

1 lb. sliced mushrooms

8 slices rye bread, TOASTED (closed face, or 4 slices for open-faced)

4 slices deli ham

4 slices Swiss cheese

thin-sliced red onion

In a small bowl, whisk together mayo, mustard, dill, salt and pepper; set aside. In a skillet over medium-high heat, saute mushrooms, stirring occasionally, for 5 minutes, or until liquid evaporates; remove from heat. Spread 4 TOAST slices with mayo mixture. Layer with ham, mushrooms, cheese and onion. Place on ungreased baking sheet. Broil under a preheated broiler, about 4 inches from heat, for 1-2 minutes. WATCH CAREFULLY!! They should be lightly golden and cheese should be melted. Top with remaining TOAST slices. Makes 4 sandwiches!

Leave a Reply

